We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent all round service at the Lalit Great Eastern. Everyone of the staff members was extremely cordial and polite, with good immediate attention to any queries put to them.
The high point of my 3 day stay was surely the breakfasts, the range and choice were astounding, they were by far better than the other 5 star accommodations I have stayed at.
I look forward to staying here again in the not-too-distant future!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

At the outset i would like to thank you on behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Great Eastern for your just concluded stay and for making us your preferred choice in . We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback on Trip-advisor and your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to your next visit and assure you to maintain the same standards of services as desired . Do write in to me at (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit and will ensure another remarkable stay experience.

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 509 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The stay at The Lalit Great aeastern was wonderful. The rooms are very very spacious. The staff is extermely courteous. Truly felt special as the staff accomodated every request. The service in the restaurant was really good despite the fact the hotel was fully booked and the restaurant was full.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar

Its been an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful review and learn that you enjoyed the best of our hospitality . We are really appreciative of your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor and your kind words of appreciation .

We look forward to welcoming you back home on your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should there be any assistance it would indeed be a honor.

Best Regards - Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent service n as I expected best hospitality. Keep it up. Good staff n good food spread. Stayed at Legacy rooms all the best !
Recommend for business n family trip will serve in all purpose.
Good location near and middle of city.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Girish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

It was indeed a pleasure having you to stay with us at The Lalit Great Eastern and savoring the best of our hospitality we have on display whilst your recent visit to the “City Of Joy” . We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to review us on Tripadvisor and your most encouraging words of appreciation .

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit and will ensure another super stay experience

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We just spent 4 nights in a legacy room and WoW this hotel is impressive. It starts with the endless amount of staff always there to welcome you and attend to your needs. They always made me smile from the security to the bell hops always there with a Namaskar!

The hotel itself is immaculate such amazing thought into the restoration and materials used.

The room we stayed in was immaculately cleaned another example of the great service. I think my room attendants name was bismath? He cleaned 2201 and took pride in his work, which is great to see. The room was very spacious, comfortable and quiet. The wifi is a great speed. The only negative is the bar fridge which was either broken or never gets cold. I had to request ice many times for cold drinks. I think actual mini fridges would be greatly welcomed by all guests.

We didn’t have the buffet breakfast included and ate at the bakery which was superb and the staff there from chef Arup and sever Anirban really stood out to us as amazing employees there to serve you at the highest level. Those are the star employees any business would love to have.

The location of the hotel is a godsend from the utter chaos of Kolkata streets.

Really I could go on and on with praises for this hotel. I’m sure if Mr. Lalit was still around he would be very proud of all his staff at The Great Eastern. I’ve traveled all around the world and stayed at many different hotels and our stay in Kolkata will always be a positive memory.

Thank You!

I highly recommend staying here without a second thought.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PerpetualTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

It was indeed a pleasure having played host to , We take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Great Eastern and really feel honored to have been your preferred choice in the "City Of Joy". We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful experience and your kind words of appreciation Arna on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back home and the joy of serving you.Please do write in to me at (grodney@thelalit.com). Should there be any further assistance required , it would indeed be a pleasure.

Best Regards - Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! Breakfast is delicious! Staff is extremely helpful! Loved our spa treatments! I would highly recommend staying here! This place was a nice welcome to India as it was our first night! For a small fee we were able to check in early which was a bonus as we arrived into Kolkata at 530 am! Did I mention the breakfast so good

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

I take the pleasure on behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata to thank you for your recent stay and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this most wonderful experience and kind words of appreciation on this podium.

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit, will ensure another memorable stay experience.

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.8 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,267 reviews
1.6 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,065 reviews
11.9 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#2 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,806 reviews
5.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,384 reviews
3.8 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata

Address: 1 2 & 3 Old Court House Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700069, India (Formerly Great Eastern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: €85 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asia's first luxury hotel, The Lalit Great Eastern is a heritage landmark located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata. Restored and renovated over a period of seven years, the hotel holds the distinction of being the longest continuously operating hotel for 165 years. Built in 1841 as Auckland Hotel, it has been referred to as the 'Jewel of the East' and the 'Best Hotel East of the Suez'. Over the years, the hotel has been the favourite haunt of royalty and celebrities from across the world. The Lalit Great Eastern, now restored to its original glory, is an amalgamation of the styles of 3 different eras of history - Victorian, Edwardian and Contemporary, reflected in Heritage Block 1, Heritage Block 2 and the New Block respectively. The original Heritage Block radiates the charm of the British Colonial Era, while the Modern Block incorporates a contemporary look and feel. These blocks have been seamlessly connected despite their distinct character and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing