We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mayfair Darjeeling(Darjeeling)
US$121
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Dekeling Hotel(Darjeeling)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cedar Inn(Darjeeling)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$51
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windamere Hotel(Darjeeling)
US$176
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
276
211
57
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
211
57
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscherry brandymr badalheritage propertyold world charmpiano playerpublic roomsbritish erabreakfast and dinnercharming hotelhigh tealounge areahot water bottlesreading roomthe ground floorevery eveningcommon areasdining hall
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

An heritage property with all modern facilities.Restaurant service is splendid.Young professionals in front office is going out of the way to help customers.Room service personnel's service mentality is above average.Then a word about house keeping,they are very keen to clean the room immediately after we are leaving for site seeings.
Views of the mountains from the room is a problem at least from my room, because of the location.
They are having friendly dogs in their campus,i love those pet's attitude.

Room Tip: Don't take help of their head quarters suggestion while selecting your transportation needs,Club Tours and Travels
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jayasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Sir !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback and appreciation ! we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the classic feel of the property !

At the same time I will certainly pass on your compliments to our team members of your appreciation of their service in the property and I will also say hello to Sky and Lillian our resident Samoyed dogs .

We are also happy to let you know that we will soon open the doors of our brand new Tenzing Norgay wing this October with 14 Premium category rooms with all 5 star amenities to further enhance the guest experience with us .

Your words of praise will go a long way in encouraging the Elgin team to keep up the good work so we can continue to exceed our guest expectations, on behalf of the entire team we certainly look forward to serving you again soon in all of the Elgin properties .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

The Elgin is one of the bful hotels that we ever stayed. Rightly located at the centre of Darjeeling, it has a beautiful heritage colonial feel to it. The staff deserves a special mention, Rikki, Prashant, Amal, staff at the diner and their manager(Badal) they all were so courteous and looked after minor details as well. They would serve food with so much love, even baked a yummy cake for my son's 6 months bday. The tea room is bfully decorated and you could spend good hours by the window enjoying your favourite wine or tea. Highly recommended! Would love to come back again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank YogitaKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Madame !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback and appreciation ! we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the classic feel of the property !

At the same time I will certainly pass on your compliments to our team members of your appreciation of their service in the property.


We are also happy to let you know that we will soon open the doors of our brand new Tenzing Norgay wing this October with 14 Premium category rooms with all 5 star amenities to further enhance the guest experience with us .

Your words of praise will go a long way in encouraging the Elgin team to keep up the good work so we can continue to exceed our guest expectations, on behalf of the entire team we certainly look forward to serving you again soon in all of the Elgin properties .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is more than I had expected. The lovely and charming library with old books, chess and ludo, the very well maintained rooms, the wooden flooring, charming restaurant and the piano player. It is definitely a heritage hotel to the T. The fire places work and we even tried one in our room. The dogs in the hotel are adorable and the location is wonderful, with chowrasta and Mall Road within walking distance.

We had booked 3 rooms in this hotel. 1 suite (they have only 1 suite) and 2 rooms. We booked 4 months in advance. But we were given rooms without any view. 2 rooms (38 and 39) had windows opening to another building, which was 1 feet away and surprisingly the suite, the most expensive room in the hotel has window opening above the kitchen chimney.

We were told that he hotel has only 6 rooms which have valley view. After a lot of discussions, they changed 1 room to valley view (31) on second day of our stay and another room on the third day of our stay (51).

The main problem we faced (and the reason for 3*s) was the pathetic service. I think that the hotel is well staffed. But the staff has been there for a long time and will probably be there for a long time. They behave like government hostel employees. The service is very slow, no one answers the room service or housekeeping extensions, the reception staff is unable to cope up with deluge of complaints. I had to come down to the reception to order sandwiches for our children on both days. My observation is that the staff catered to the most angry and complaining guests first.

Another example of poor service was housekeeping. We checked in and found the washroom in poor condition. The staff came and cleaned it up, but you would expect things in perfect shape in such a hotel. They provided 1 towel in the room, knowing that we were 2 adults with 1 child. When we asked for more, they didn't send any on the same day. The next morning the reception told me that they can provide more after housekeeping staff arrives. This is at 9 am. Is the housekeeping staff not available at 9 am?

The restaurant is small and charming, serving buffet meals (we didn't try the lunch though). But again the service is a let down. Food is not refilled. On the first day, the sausages and ham ran out at 9am. The reception told us that their stock was over and fresh stock was expected that day. Should it have been on the menu in this case? The menu included dosa and eggs made to order. The menu also had puri and subzi. The waiters would be running around, but in the end we managed to get neither the puri or the dosa. They should look at reducing the menu, but serving it well.

As a heritage hotel, you expect the odd things such as the creaking floors, neighbours voices coming through, the piano noise filtering into our room till 10 pm, the slow hot water in washrooms etc. In fact, they added to the charm of the hotel. But passing off bad service in the name of being a heritage hotel is not acceptable.

I would recommend checking out the other hotels such as Mayfair. There is also a Ramada opening up soon (for the travellers who prefer modern hotels). If you book this hotel, I can promise you that the hotel wont leave you disappointed. But the service will be a disappointment.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Axi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Sir !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback and appreciation ! we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the classic feel of the property !

At the same time I apologise the the service in the property has let you down ! I will certainly pass on your feedback to the service team who as you have said have been here for many years as the property is a heritage property and we are grateful to them for the years if service they have put in , however we now have a master plan to retire most of them gracefully and we will be soon bringing in a new and young team who we feel we can train and take the property to the next level to cater to the present day travellers needs and expectations .


We are also happy to let you know that we will soon open the doors of our brand new Tenzing Norgay wing this October with 14 Premium category rooms with all 5 star amenities to further enhance the guest experience with us .

Your words of praise will go a long way in encouraging the Elgin team to keep up the good work so we can continue to exceed our guest expectations, on behalf of the entire team we certainly look forward to serving you again soon in all of the Elgin properties .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The first owner of The Elgin was the Maharaja of Coonch Bihar. This property, which is straight out of fairy tale - for it resembles a deliciously layered pastry then passed into the hands of British gentry and was eventually run as a hotel. It may seem ironical that a property originally owned by an Indian did not take in Indian guests until the late 1950s when the then owner Ms Nancy Oakley started admitting Indian guests again. In due course the property passed into the hands of the present owners - the Oberois, specifically KC Oberoi and subsequently inherited by Brij Raj (aka Diamond) Oberoi, who lovingly maintained the place in its pristine condition despite the rest of Darjeeling having degraded into a sordid mess of a place. The Elgin is one of the few hotels in this hill station with a reasonable amount of captive parking space. The wooden floors, the period furniture, out of print editions of lesser known books bound in green rexine jackets lining several book shelves strewn across the property, chandeliers, fully liveried stewards and butlers, the upright piano in the dining hall, B&W pictures of early 20th century depicting descriptive portraits of that period - all these evoke memories of a bygone era. Elgin has played host to important personages including movie stars from time to time with the many framed pictures bearing testimony to this fact. The dining room is another pucca British affair with the crockery bearing the Elgin crest, solid metal cutlery and tea pots. The place even has a pianist in attendance to tickle the ivories every evening. Many of the rooms afford panoramic views of the hill station and the surrounding hills. During our stay there was large boisterous group of young Indian families with a brood of toddlers and preschoolers. In the dining room there was total chaos and bedlam when they came down to partake their meals. Requests for the pianist to play popular Hindi numbers kept pouring in from the group and no one appeared to be paying heed to the music. On another table, two westerners were often seen looking on at the chaos with a bemused expression. I like to think of their predicament as poetic justice.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Guest !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback and appreciation ! we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the classic feel of the property and the service and amenities . We are also happy to let you know that we will soon open the doors of our brand new Tenzing Norgay wing this October with 14 Premium category rooms with all 5 star amenities to further enhance the guest experience with us .

Your words of praise will go a long way in encouraging the Elgin team to keep up the good work so we can continue to exceed our guest expectations, on behalf of the entire team we certainly look forward to serving you again soon in all of the Elgin properties .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

The Elgin Darjeeling is a quaint property which pulls you into its past with its brocade and antiques and black and white photos. The staff was warm and welcoming and went out of their way to make us comfortable. My son had a stomach upset while staying here and the entire staff from manager to chef was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Minothi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Madame !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback and appreciation ! we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the classic feel of the property and the service and amenities . We are also happy to let you know that we will soon open the doors of our brand new Tenzing Norgay wing this October with 14 Premium category rooms with all 5 star amenities to further enhance the guest experience with us .

Your words of praise will go a long way in encouraging the Elgin team to keep up the good work so we can continue to exceed our guest expectations, on behalf of the entire team we certainly look forward to serving you again soon in all of the Elgin properties .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews