We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sterling Darjeeling
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mayfair Darjeeling(Darjeeling)
US$195
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Viceroy Hotel(Darjeeling)
US$156
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel White Yak(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Krishna Residency(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
108
133
47
30
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
133
47
30
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghoom monasterybhim singhstudio apartmentactivity roomrailway stationsofa cum bedtravel deskbeautiful resortkanchenjunga peakthe cottageshighest pointexcellent view of kanchenjungaroad leadingala cartebuffet spreadmain buildingaverage food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome place to spend the vacation, this type of please always looking for and the staff is extremely supportive, definitely will visit again with friends as they should what the missed out in their vacation. Best part is food, mouth watering food at reasonable rates.
Thank you Mr.Mitra for all the support and your caring nature towards your guest..

Thanks once again Sterling Darjeeling.. Keep up the good work

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Vinsehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

It delights us to know that you had a wonderful time at Sterling – Darjeeling.

Thank you for speaking so highly of us. It is guests like you that bring out the best in us. We are elated to learn that we could impress your palate with our highly-rated dining menu. Thank you for especially mentioning Mitra. He is one of our finest resources.
Promising the best – always!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome property neat with beautiful views of Kanchenjunga. Very friendly and helpful staff at your service.Would definitely revisit whenever possible.Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Swapnendu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for holidaying at Sterling – Darjeeling and sharing such your kind feedback.

We are humbled by your kind words towards our amenities and service. Our well-trained staff members are the ambassadors of Sterling’s core beliefs – to leave no stone unturned in ensuring that our guests feel welcomed and are taken care of. We are particularly delighted that you enjoyed the scenic ambience of our resort.
We would love to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Understaffed and understocked resturant and bar with poor quality food.

Front desk and room service are almost always busy to take your calls.

Location is good if you want to spend most of your time at Ghum monastery but it’s far from Darjeeling city Center.

Overall staff is cold or clueless. Only saving grace is the house keeping service with prompt and polite staff.

Sterling resorts ? Not again !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Vinay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Ma’am,
Namaste!

Thank you for holidaying with us at Sterling Darjeeling and taking the time to review our resort. We are extremely regretful for not being able to deliver a pleasant experience to you and your family. We have raised a concern about your feedback with the Resort Management Team to immediately rectify the issues you have highlighted. It would be most kind of you to not hold this as a norm as personalised service, best-in-class hospitality and good food are hallmarks of the Sterling experience. We sincerely apologize for the letdown on this occasion and request you to give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome property neat and clean with beautiful views. Very friendly and helpful staff at your service.
Breakfast buffet has a huge variety with a touch of local essence.
Would definitely revisit whenever possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leukosmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for holidaying at Sterling – Darjeeling and sharing your valuable feedback.
We are delighted to know that you had a typical Sterling kind of holiday. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we would always want you to enjoy it to the fullest. Thank you for sharing your room tip.
We would love to be your hospitality partner in your next endeavor.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile


Oh sterling! U have lost the ground ..
Just because u have a huge property doesn’t mean that u can claim to be one of the best hotels ..
I have stayed in sterling Kodaikanal, it’s hospitality is way par excellent than what I had here .. I stayed for 2 days (26 - 28 March) in your resort and will list all the annoying things I had to face thru ..
U claim to be a 4* property , but when I entered , there was no welcome .. just 2 people in the desk asking to fill the formalities.. dude which era r u living , a small budget hotel in lachung welcomed me with a tea ... and a 2* property in Gangtok welcomed as with a namaste atleast ..
there was a group who organized some party in that place .. u people have given me rooms along with the people who have come to attend that party (Hillary section) .. those guys thought , that’s their fathers property n were yelling till 12at night .. no one from management side to ask them to stop .. now I feel it was your duty to upgrade my room and give me some other room .. I have been given up-gradation earlier in other resorts when the rooms were empty. And so were rooms were free too that day in your resort ..

I still don’t know who gave u 4* hotel rating .. I have never seen so small bathrooms in such high rated hotel ..
I called up thrice for the heater on day 1.. nobody turned up ..
There was no napkins placed .. even a small budget hotel gives 2 towels n 2 napkins ..
next day no tea,coffee n sugar sachets were placed.. I have to call up for that too..

oh dear! I m still not ending now ..

The breakfast was one , which a two star hotel serves .. 4* properties generally have a ranges of bread .. but there was just one kind of bread available n that too unevenly cut.. there should be person from the management team near the counters .. there was no hot milk , I have to ask them to bring .. all the luchi (puri) were cold served .. plastic glasses were given for water , some were used glasses too ..
During check out , I asked for a water bottle .. they gave a RO re-filled bottle .. which 4* property does that ..

Now ! Finally regarding the location .. some people claim it to be superbly placed property (7-8 km away from city) . There is a small path that leads to hotel ,if some vehicle come in front .. either u or the other car had to reverse .. if U have flight .. plz check out atleast half an hr before just for the traffic in that lane alone .

Finally .. If u have lot of money and time to waste .. go , pick this hotel .. or else it’s isn’t worth the money ..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Vidit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for holidaying with us at Sterling Darjeeling and taking the time to review our resort. Please accept our heartfelt apologies for not being able to deliver a pleasant experience to you. We are most regretful for the issues that marred the quality of your stay. Our Resort Management Team has noted your concerns to ensure that we can provide a comfortable and luxurious stay to our esteemed members and guests. Our executive who has been in touch with you has further enabled us to understand your experience better. It would be most kind of you to excuse this as an untoward exception and give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews