We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit to darjeeling ..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kasturi Palace
Ranked #76 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 1 June 2016

average hotel .. booked 3 rooms but they gave 1 room on other floor ...room good with nice view ...just outside the windowpane of my room there was pigeon hideout...stinky..so couldnt open the windows... bathroom clean ...food ok ... they donn give that taste when u take rooms with meal plan..room service ok ..

Room Tip: top floor room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dr_rakesh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015

It is a really good hotel. Made a sudden plan to visit Darjeeling when I was in Siliguri from Bhutan and couldn’t find any hotel. Though the hotel is at a little distance from the main town, it is nice. I had trouble finding rooms in Darjeeling and finally got one with my friends here. As a walk in guest, couldn’t get a good deal but after explaining our situation, got a good discount at the room rate and I had a good stay. I tried the snacks, French fries and pakora in the restaurant and it was good. This hotel would be a little better if it was closer to Chowrasta but not a problem. Morning tea with a great view was an additional bonus with a view room. Had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: great view of Darjeeling town and Kanchenjunga from the rooftop restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarmaTashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I had book a room for 5 people, a family trip and had even booked for meals included in the package. Since we were visiting in May we booked for it one month ago. It was hard to find a pure veg restaurant in Darjeeling so this hotel was very good for us. They served us from soups, starters, rice, rotis, varieties of sabjis and desserts for dinner and a range of breakfast from idli, poha, parathas and sandwiches. It was great that they gave us comfortable view facing rooms and all together and even though we check in late and had some issues, the staffs were very co operative to our needs to thanks to all the staffs .. from your guests from Mumbai

Room Tip: When you make a booking, book their hotels in Sikkim also if u r visiting Sikkim for additional disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yogesh2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nischal G, General Manager at Hotel Kasturi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Thanks Mr Yogesh. It was lovely having you and your family at our hotel. Its a great pleasure to know that you had a good experience in our hotel and restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Had gone to visit Darjeeling for a vacation with friends. Suddenly came across this hotel and made reservations and check in instantly. Since, we were new to this place, the staffs here helped us with all our travels and sight seeing. The rooms were good and comfortable, plus being a vegetarian, amazing vegetarian food for breakfast. Thanks to the staffs for all their support and the help for sightseeing and traveling around. Taking a view from the roof top early morning from this hotel is a must. great view!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top have better view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RanaLaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nischal G, General Manager at Hotel Kasturi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Thank you Mr Rana for the review. We are really glad you loved our property in Darjeeling and we are really glad to have helped you. We hope we can serve you more and better in the days to come.

Nischal Gurung
General Manager
Kasturi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

I was on a vacation to Darjeeling and booked this Hotel online.It is situated on Hill Cart road.The hotel looked reasonable in the pictures posted online.When we reached the picture was entirely different.The access road was badly broken and the entrance was shabby and unwelcome.We had to hoist our bags to reach the "Hotel".On Make -my trip website this Hotel is cited as a three star facility.The word lodge is more appropriate as the place was dingy and smelly and was no more than a one star facility.The rooms were very small,the furniture was pathetic,the linen was unclean and bathrooms were horrible with non functional geysers and fungus on the walls.I had already paid three thousand online and was at a loss about what to do next after a long trip and it was already evening.The restaurant was in shambles and we had to take our meals outside.
The hotel staff was unhelpful in getting us a taxi as they always were asking a exorbitant charge usually three times the normal.Overall we got fleeced as the charges for walk in guests was Rs 1500 on enquiry which I suspect was further negotiable.
All in all a extremely disgusting and forgetful experience .
R B Kalia

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roopkalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nischal G, General Manager at Hotel Kasturi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Our heartfelt apologies for the experience you had. Our hotel was in a severe renovation during your stay therefore couldn't give you the best. Hope we can serve you better in the future days to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.9 km away
Sterling Darjeeling
Sterling Darjeeling
#18 of 99 in Darjeeling
317 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
2.4 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#70 of 99 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
1.4 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
1.8 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasturi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasturi Palace

Address: 51 A Hotel Kasturi Palace Cart Road | Rose Bank, Darjeeling 734102, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: €48 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kasturi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kasturi Palace, Darjeeling which is equivalent to a Three Star Property is a real Palace for the Tourists is naturally placed against the majestic backdrop of the mighty world's third highest mountain "Khangchendzonga" is a newly came-up property with total solution of Travel and living in Darjeeling located in the heart of the town yet away from the tumult and the din, just 1 Km before Darjeeling Railway Station and on the side of National Highway 55 next to Ava Art Gallery. The location is extremely safe and convenient. The beautiful rooftop viewpoint of the hotel offers you a never-to-forget opportunity to feast your eyes on the majesty and grandeur of the Himalayas and Darjeeling Town within 360 degree angle. The new property boasts of a lavish interior, very tastefully done and besides its spacious, comfortable and both-side view facing 20 rooms the management introduces a pure Gujarati, Jain, Marwari & South Indian restaurant with the typical food preparation made by the core chefs from the concerned region which is a unique concept in this region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing