We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$95
View deal
Booking.com
US$95
US$90
View deal
SAVE US$5
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
85
70
15
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
85
70
15
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raj bhavan manager mr executive room glass covered chicken roast hermitage road their signature dish cooking quality facing mt unobstructed view whole range located hotel sleeping buddha room number darjeeling tea special thanks to mr tiger hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2021

I went with my friend to Darjeeling in January 21. We always wanted to stay at The Retreat but never got a chance as it was always sold out. This time may be due to pandemic situation we got super delux room facing the Kanchenjungha. You can see unobstructed view of Kanchenjungha from your bed. Beautiful sunrise can be seen from the room itself. The corner rooms which are executive rooms are the best. It has 2 sides open with a sitting area.

They arrange for pick up and drop. The car will drop you near Governor house and from there its 2 minutes walk and staffs will carry your luggage

They took all precautions required as per covid protocol. The manager and the staffs were courteous and help ful. The location of the hotel is best in Darjeeling as it is located at the Kanchenjungha view point on Hermitage Road where people gather to watch sunrise. The rooms have adequate space and well furnished with TV. Housekeeping is good. Bathroom is medium size and clean. They will give you room heater if asked for.
Complimentary breakfast was a bit disappointing otherwise food served is good specially chicken roast is their signature dish.
All over we had a great and pleasant stay for 2 days

Room tip: Corner rooms or rooms in the first floor above reception level
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sanjoy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Retreat with Family & Freinds from 13th-17th March 2021
Overall a great experience
All the Rooms R facing Mt Kanchenzenga but we Ur unable to see the View due to bad weather
The Staffs R very well behaved & Courteous
One should appreciate the Cleanliness of the Hotel
I must thank the Manager Mr Arijit Chatterjee who’s very very Accommodating & Efficient
The food served in the Restaurant is tasty & reasonably Priced
Only complaint is that they should have more variety in the breakfast Menu

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PARTHAS267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

We stayed during the end of November 2020, and during the ongoing pandemic we dared to travel, being locked down for months. So we were quite skeptical , however the hotel was at its best, the luggage is sanitized , and knowing that i was quite concerned they would even sanitize my room each day right in front of me.

The best part- THE MANAGER IS A GEM OF A PERSON!! and also the staff, very polite always ready to serve...something that every property needs, treating each guest with exactly what they need!

The VIEWS of this property are TOP RATED!! i doubt you would get these view anywhere else.
RIGHT FROM your BED you can witness the sleeping Buddha..and i mean exactly that when i say that..

Right at the entrance they have the famous viewpoint where many arrive in the early mornings and through out the day both local and tourist but if your staying at the retreat you can have that from the comfort of your bed..coffee in hand :)

The part that they need to improve is probably at the kitchen, the thukpa tasted three different kinds on each time of order!! also we dint get any momos through out our stay..something you need to have considering its the hills..however we had complimentary breakfast which was descent,if there are many guests they serve buffet ,if not it will a standard order of eggs bread etc.

Apart from that...staying here is a MUST!

I would definitively say a big thank you to all at the staff at the property for taking such good care of us!!

Room tip: all their rooms the best view!!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manjari23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Located near Raj Bhavan, this place provides you with a beautiful escapade with its breathtaking view of the Kanchenjunga right from your very own room. As you sit sipping on your cup of tea, yoQu're bound to get mesmerized by the view from the hotel room on a sunny morning. If you're looking for a quick getaway with your friends, this place would undoubtedly be the one you should be aiming for. With the courteous staff and the helpful manager, one would never regret his decision of choosing The Retreat.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RohiniM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

Main attraction of The Retreat is its location. One can have a full view of Mt. Kanchenjunga from the room. Manager of the Hotel Arijit is very helpful. The whole team is courteous. Food is very tasty. One must try their signature dish Roasted Chicken which is .

Room tip: Room no.303 and 302 are the best rooms for mountain view
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kidpur05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews