We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel was just fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai
Ranked #303 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The hotel was just fine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel was just fine, nothing special, everything was just alright. The kitchen staff were terribly slow and a little too disinterested in meeting our needs for my liking. The food in the restaurant was just alright. The first room was very noisy and after a bit of dialogue from us and them they gave us anther room. It was a good location to get around. I would stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salome11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    35
    45
    31
    52
See reviews for
41
25
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

this is a hotel in good location but doesnt seem to care for service , cleanliness. Very shavy rooms and stinking , water bribles from centralised AC. Service is just horrible. Rates are competitive but lowers on squeezing. Overall not a good place to stay for professionals.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmindia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Nice place to stay for a day or two. Staff was helpful and rooms were clean. There was a good variety in food. Overall experience was good. Will like to visit again.
Was also not very expensive. Thank you very much for making my stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymousb084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

It is located very close to Chennai CMBT Bus Terminus, it is infact at a walkable distance from it.
The rooms were pretty good for a daily rate of 2000 a day. The reception and the corridors were clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful. We had an issue while booking with travelguru, so contacted the hotel to confirm, make sure you do the same so as to not endup sleeping on the side walk.The room was pretty big, sheets were clean and so was the bath room(there was no shower only bathtub).
We only had the breakfast included in the price and it was awesome south indian breakfast.
Overall if you are looking very calm and quiet place to stay that is near to Bus Terminus and Airport, this is the place to go

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I made the stupid decision of holding my wedding in one of Vijay Park's halls, unfortuate, cuz my wedding date got decided at the last moment, and this was the only available option.In summary this is what happened.

The bride and the groom waiting in the foyer for a wedding that is set to happen in an hour's time. The hall, the complimentary rooms were summarily refused, though the complete payment had been made two weeks in advance.

Here's what they did.
1. Received advance payment for food and hall IN FULL two weeks before the wedding.
2. Received instructions for the dais arrangements for the wedding to take place, a photograph was given to them to make sure they made it exactly the same way.
3. Two complimentary rooms were offered, one each for the bride and groom for the wedding day, which could be used at any time (even if it is at 4 am in the morning, cuz the wedding was at 7.30 am)

HERE's WHAT HAPPENED:
1. On the day of the wedding, 6AM, I was asked to pay 2000 bucks on the spot. The reception folks refused to let me take the hall without the payment being made. This was a so called 'security deposit'.Please note that the entire amount has been paid to them in full in advance.
2. I demanded to speak to a higher level authority. The person refused to pick up the phone calls.
3. When another person was called, he refused to make the decision to give me the hall,quoting that he had no authority to do that.
4. By 7.15 Am when the 'authorized' person picked d call, he told me plain that he cannot let me use the hall unless I paid the petty 2000 cash as a safety deposit and that it was their 'policy', which of course, they never mentioned while the hall was booked. U really dont expect anyone to be carrying around cash in their pockets on the day of the wedding.
5. In the meanwhile, a customer who had flown in for a meeting was being refused a room which he had booked a month in advance. He was getting pissed off that he was getting so late. (U will know why this info is critical, as u read on)
6. Finally after arguing and yelling for long enough, the 'authorized' person, offered 1 room to be used. I let my would be wife use that room, so that she could get dressed and ready. The room was stinking with the smell of whisky, and rotten chicken pieces.
7. The customer mentioned in point 5 above, was given the same room that was given to my wife. Just how pathetic can you get?!
8. After sorting that out, I went to check the hall. They had made a completely different and non-existing design for the dais. Absolutely nothing was ready in the hall. Dirty chairs and unclean carpets included.
9. I had to argue with the hall managers to get the design done at the earliest, it was 8 AM by then..
10. Finally, I was offered a room,only after the payment was made through a friend. The room hadnt been cleaned. It had used mattresses, rotten tomates, few beer bottles, stinking smell of smoke. I had to argue to get another room.
11. The next room, had no power supply, broken bath tub and wash basin, under construction and stinked no less than the other rooms. But it was too late for me to get into another argument. I used d room, as I was out of time and got married.
12. Do I need to say more?! GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND AN ENTHRALLING EXPERIENCE!

Anyone with a pea sized brain, would avoid this place. Have to admit, I made one of the most stupid decisions of my life, to be at this place.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArunSelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Aminjikarai
Radha Regent
Radha Regent
#39 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
JP Hotel Chennai
#42 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Hotel Royal Plaza
#70 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aminjikarai
Hotel Atchaya
Hotel Atchaya
#231 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Ambica Empire
#126 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Ginger Hotel Chennai
#109 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai

Property: The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai
Address: 12 Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Chennai (Madras) 600106, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing