We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality Food”
Review of Bay Leaf

Bay Leaf
Ranked #234 of 7,027 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Teynampet
Reviewed 30 August 2018

The place is neat and well maintained. There were just a couple of guests. Made us wonder whether we made the right choice of restaurant. However the food quality was excellent and the service efficient. Totally enjoyed the dining experience there.
The Kathi rolls are delicious

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

One of the best and authentic bengali food i ever had outside my lovely Kolkata.
Most of the rare food items are available here.
Please note we Bengalis are non vegetarian. Non vegetarian dishes are available.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Swarup007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Picked up this place from TripAdvisor based on choice and rating.

The layout, the food and recommendations by the staff was good. Need to definitely try mustard based fish dishes.

Parking is an issue though.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank jmadhanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

This lovely Bengal restaurant in chennai offers up magnificent food The service is lovely. A very good selection of foods with great spicing

This is located in the gopalarum area even our taxi had a challenge finding it but a quick call led to clear directions.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Bayleaf has been around for ever so long and doesn't disappoint every time we visit. It's a homely, cozy place with a soft, laid-back ambience. Their starters, like our methi machli tikkas, are really good but I can't understand why every restaurant in Chennai insists on serving Basa fish, especially Bayleaf, where we are expecting Bhetki. Maybe we should have specified our requirement. Come on guys, Basa in a Bengali eating joint!!

Anyway, even the simple aloo mutter was very well prepared and tasty. Bayleaf is best known for its Kathi rolls, perhaps the best in Chennai and they have wisely added a take-away kathi roll counter at the entrance.

Succulent mutton is a rarity in Chennai and the mutton was really tough in our dish. Whenever we have mutton in Hyderabad, it just melts in the mouth. Wonder why.

A good place to keep going to; choose carefully and you will not be disappointed. And, don't orderr Basa.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Leaf also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Bay Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing