We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastically friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Generals Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #72 of 469 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Fantastically friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The folks here certainly go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need, and provide after-care too! They mailed my spectacles back to me after I left them behind in the room, which was lot more than I expected.

The room I stayed in was large and elegantly furnished, and someone would come in to turn the heater on every evening so that I returned to a warm, cozy room. I thought everything was quite reasonably priced, including breakfast, which came in generous portions and was thoroughly satisfying.

I do have to point out that the linen, towels, room and bathroom could have been much cleaner. The duvet ought to have had at least a linen cover to hide all the lint and hairs caught in it.

However, on the whole, I had a wonderful stay at the General's Retreat and will definitely stay there again if I ever return to Jaipur.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JethroDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    41
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
30
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
City of London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had the chance to stay at this amazing little hotel in Jaipur recently. It is run by Indu Bist and his daughter Ketaki who are the descendants of the general who built this hotel in the countryside outside Jaipur. Now Jaipur has encircled the hotel but this has not diminished the warm family feel or the sense of being in an out-of-town villa. The rooms are all different and all comfortable, but the best aspect is being welcomed into the family who will make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are grander than the ones upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I certianly don't agree with Okietrader's comments. The accommodation was excellent value, and mostly we thought it very clean and felt safe. We also stayed there when it was very cold. The blankets were clean and adequate, some peope just have to whine I guess.
Showers had boiling water and loads of it. Food was great in fact much better that the Trident.
I will certainly be staying there on my next trip.

Lynette

Room Tip: speak to the owner who runs it he is a wonderful man
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

very good service from the supernice staff. The rooms are okay.
It was very cold when we were there, so they provided heater. That was good, bathroom however was still very cold.
The blankets they gave were disgusting, we did not feel comfortable in covering ourselves with woolen blankets that many other guests had used. No real blanket cover available.
Dinner was excellent, real home cooked food. However at 350 Rupees we found it little overpriced.
The overall price of staying was 2800 plus taxes. Looking back, i think it was too much.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okietrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The General's Retreat is a secluded villa just otside the old centre of Jaipur. It is the former home of a family with an aristocratic and military background, visible in various paraphernalia in the common areas. As such, it has a lovely nostalgic atmosphere.
The owner, a retired admiral, rules the place with a strict hand. Service is therefore attentive and courteous.
The rooms are large, quiet and well-maintained. Meals are simple and sufficient. Behind the house is a swimming pool, where I once saw a family of monkeys wander by (see the picture).
It is possible to walk to Jaipur's main sights in half an hour, but I wouldn't recommend it. Like in many Indian cities, walking is no pleasure.
All in all, this guesthouse really does feel like a retreat, away from the chaos and dirt of the city.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.7 km away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#18 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
2.2 km away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#83 of 372 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.7 km away
Barwara Kothi
Barwara Kothi
#15 of 469 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 km away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#9 of 469 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Property: The Generals Retreat
Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing