We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice website - but reality is very different”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hari Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hari Mahal Palace
Ranked #133 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice website - but reality is very different”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed overnight in this hotel on a weekend visit to Jaipur from Delhi. The website made it sound tranquil, welcoming and idyllic. . . what we experienced couldn't have been further from the truth.

We arrived mid morning so wanted a quick spot of lunch before heading into the bustle of Jaipur. Toasted sandwiches seemed quick enough so as not to delay us. After 25 minutes we received wafer thin bread sandwiches and about 5 chips which looked they were what was remaining in the bottom of the fat. I then ordered a Strawberry milkshake, when this arrived it was lumpy with pieces of newspaper. . . After i sent this back it transpired that the kitchen cover the ice cream with newspaper and it had stuck to the top of the ice cream but they served it anyway.

Next was the room. . . an odd set up almost like a 3 bedroomed flat so 3 lockable rooms with a bathroom a shared living room and shared kitchen. Rooms were o.k comfortable enough for their purpose or so we thought - but we'll get to that. The kitchen we didn't use, which was a good job as this is where housekeeping have decided to keep all the towels and bed linen so you couldn't gain access to cook if you wanted to - I almost felt like they were expecting me to do the ironing.

So off we went for an amazing experience of Jaipur only to return on the evening to the sound of trains thundering past the window of the room beeping their horns, this must have happened every 30 minutes. We thought it might be a one off or maybe two times event and so we proceeded to shower (cold water) and change for dinner.

Dinner itself could have been a lovely affair - we sat in the gardens under the stars and the setting was perfect. . .Entertainment (Indian dancing / puppet show) was advertised to run from 8pm - 10pm (one of the main reasons we decided to stay in the hotel). What we got was about 10 minutes of dancing by one lady and a 10 minute puppet show which although good was a total disappointment. You can't advertise entertainment when it clearly isn't.

So onto food. . . . I ordered a lamb curry and to be fair what i ordered was o.k, but my friend ordered a similar dish but was delivered only bone and gristle. . . so that went back and we ordered something else.

It was nice to retire to the room jus to know we were so much closer to checking out. . . But no sleep for the weary travellers. . . because those trains keep going ALL night.

Great place with potential but I wouldn't stay again, I wouldn't recommend it and I certainly wont be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    60
    23
    19
    14
See reviews for
87
36
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I loved it to stay in the Udaipur suite (#104). The suite has 4 rooms (sleeping/living, clothing, storing and bathroom) and is huge with a very nice kingsize bed. It has a antique look, which is the best thing. If you're in the room you feel like making a time travel. The modern equippment consists of a Tv with every useful channel in indian and english language (movies, news...), a bathroom with a bathtub and a seperate shower with cold and hot water at all time (don't forget to switch on the boiler - the switch is in the bathroom) and a hairdryer. Also an A/C and a big ceiling fan are installed to make a comfy climate.
The bad thing is, that you cannot open any window and that it is very dark in the room. The railway is very close to the room, but if you close the door to the storageroom during night it was never a problem for me to sleep.
You can also use the pool, which is quite nice but the circulating pumps were not activated, so the pool was not the cleanest one, but it was ok to swim.
The service was excellent at my time of travelling. I was asked every day, if I would like to have a footbath with rose flowers and rose oil, hot every day a letter with a small story about Jaipur, the hotel, or just a quote from e.g. Marie Therese with a rose flower.
They allways tried to help me with train tickets and transport...
Wifi is available, but very costly (~2400Rupees) which could be improved.
The food in the restaurant is also good, but I went out 4 of 7 times, because I needed some alternative to the indian cuisine after staying nearly 4 weeks in India.
In general I can only recommend this place and I will definitely stay there again, if I come back to Jaipur.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flow_Aut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed in a suite in Heritage Wing. I felt different and good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amarnath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed here with my family for one night and although this hotel is branded as a heritage hotel, there is much room for improvement. The rooms are dark but the darker upholstery and bed linen make it seem worse. The sheets were not very clean and some of the electrical fixtures were nearly coming off of the wall. The bathroom was stinking and I could make out old urine stains on the floor and on the side of the toilet. The bathroom floor in general was not cleaned (clumps of hair etc could be seen). Thankfully the trains were not loud enough in this room to keep us up. The breakfast was supposed to start at 7 am and we had requested if we could have it slightly earlier since we had a long drive home. Although we were promised to be served food earlier, eventually it was only ready past 7! Great idea to have food served out on the lawns but we were besieged by flies!! This may be partly because the surroundings are not kept very clean. I think this place could offer a really nice experience, but it is certainly not there now! I don't think I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamnMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

It's heritage property - good lawn, good arrangement. Food was awesome ... with many options.
But rooms were not that great. Small and we had change the room as geyser was not working. It's well located in Jaipur city and well known to people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagladasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.5 km away
Flute Boutique Hotel
Flute Boutique Hotel
#128 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.3 km away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#104 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.8 km away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#101 of 376 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#127 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 km away
Park Inn Jaipur, A Sarovar Hotel
1.7 km away
Ashok Jaipur
Ashok Jaipur
#200 of 376 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hari Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hari Mahal Palace

Property: Hari Mahal Palace
Address: Jacob Road, Jaipur 300206, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#46 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#49 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#65 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hari Mahal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hari Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hari Mahal Palace Jaipur
Hari Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing