We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Oasis”
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel Meghniwas is a quiet and charming oasis just off the beaten path of total bedlam (traffic) and madness (noise) in the city of Jaipur! The terrace and garden are a lovely, quiet haven for evening relaxation after busy and exhausting days of site seeing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was clean. Service great. Food quality is very good and safe! Great value for money. The only down side is that my bed was rock hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I loved this hotel. It was a nice and comfortable place to stay. Great staff-really nice people. Wonderful laundry service. Delicious breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

this place is probably one of the best in Rajasthan in terms of service ! Rooms are lovely and well furnished, the garden is delightful, the food is excellent and should satisfy all tastes...
The staff is efficient, though discreet, No pushing, no hassle, all informations are available on request. We stayed there for 3 nights in a row being a group of 12. The weather was quite chilly and we were all delighted to find a portable heater in our rooms after the first night, without asking for it ! House keeping and room services are both excellent and one can easily feel that the owner is personnally taking care of the place. Thanks for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senvatenguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were sorry to only have one night in this delightful hotel. Conveniently located, clean and welcoming, this hotel had all the modern conveniences with plenty of old world charm. We were particularly grateful to Indu Singh who went beyond the call of duty to help us with our travel plans, but all of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Another plus was the excellent coffee, which generally seems hard to get hold of in India.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I travelled with two friends, just staying in Jaipur for one night. We had originally tried to book Jasvilas but as it was full they recommended Meghniwas (next door, same family) and we were delighted with it. Yes, it's not a 5* with all the associated trappings but we actually preferred it in many ways to the 3 5*s that we stayed in...

The airport pick-up was fine but don't be alarmed if they put your cases on the roof - this seems normal there. First impression: the gardens are beautiful, lots of lovely seating around the pool and a very welcome tea in a beautiful silver pot/coffee (proper stuff in a cafetiere!) was served whilst we waited for our room (we arrived early).

They gave us the suite as we were 3 sharing which was lovely (2 sofas, desk, chairs, dressing table etc.). Lots of cool marble and nice but subtle locally-inspired decor. Bathroom was large and shower was very good. Beds were comfortable (v large double + extra good-size bed which was fine for an adult), everything was clean, and the character and garden views make up for the odd scuff mark/faded patch.

We had lunch in the restaurant before heading out. There was some good veggie options and the samosas were particularly nice. It wasn't anything to write home about but it was flavoursome and excellent value.

Mrs Singh made the place very special with her warm, relaxed and helpful nature. She arranged a car to take us around the sights of Jaipur and a driver to take us to Agra upon departure, both of which were reasonably priced. She also helped us to get a rickshaw in the evening and went to lots of effort to ensure we were comfortable. The location was great for us, just 10 minutes to the centre/old city but far enough out to be really quiet and away from the hussle and bustle of the centre.

A few little niggles (there are always some with me) but these are just suggestions for improvement/expectation-managers rather than anything that should put you off:

The room was a little chilly, we were staying in their winter and the electric heater did the job (I understand that some of the rooms have AC units which also provide heating) but do take some good pyjamas if staying there in winter (although I bet it would be beautifully cool in the summer); would have been nice to have some conditioner in the bathroom; the dog was beautiful but barked a lot whilst we were sitting outside; breakfast buffet was good but not the best and there wasn't much choice for my vegan friend.

Overall, we were delighed with this find, and with the price. We were sad to only have one night there and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an AC heater if you stay in the winter. Room 210 was large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.5 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.3 km away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,840 reviews
9.9 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
704 reviews
0.0 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
851 reviews
1.8 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: €53 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing