We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This hotel is beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samode Haveli
Ranked #11 of 372 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This hotel is beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location, where you can walk to the old Jaipur sights easily.
We were in the old part of the hotel, where the room had a four poster bed and lovely traditional bathroom (huge).
The area around the pool is very comfortable with very friendly staff around to cater for all your needs.
The staff in the breakfast room were also very friendly and efficient.
My only criticism was the breakfast was not great. Not much selection. This was not the case in the evening menu, which is served in the courtyard with patio heaters where necessary.
Wifi connection - non existant most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdjsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    275
    61
    17
    14
See reviews for
194
575
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The haveli itself, the rooms and grounds of this hotel are as lovely as the other reviewers say. We've visited Jaipur before and this time came mainly for the bazaars and just to rest and wander around, so the location at the edge of the pink city was perfect for us. But the pool is unheated and was too cold to swim in, even with an outside temperature of 30. Mostly it went unused, and one other guest with whom I spoke also said it was too cold (it's not just that I'm a wimp).
For me, the main flaw, though, was the food. The breakfast buffet was frankly awful, a mediocre selection to start with and then food left sitting for far too long. I've had a lot of breakfast buffets at hotels in India, and this was among the worst. The other menu items we tried weren't much better. Dreadful pakoras, tasteless and poorly prepared, kulfi that was clearly made cheaply and thoughtlessly. We ate dinner elsewhere after tasting snack and lunch items - I suggest LMB in Bapu Bazaar for proper Rajasthani food at reasonable prices.
Still, sometimes one doesn't want to go out, especially late at night for dinner, and for the prices this hotel charges surely they could do better. All the food was served in stunning spaces - but the taste and quality of the food itself should also be a concern for the management, which it doesn't seem to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Haveli, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and am pleased to hear that you found the location, rooms and the grounds of the Haveli to your liking.
I am sorry that the food did not meet your expectations and please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. We have noted down your feedback and will certainly look into the aspect of improving the selection of food for the breakfast. We look forward to your visit again to Samode Haveli.

with regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We travelled here from the Samode Palace.

Within the busy, noisy streets of Jaipur is a turn off to the Haveli. You enter first into a lovely cool courtyard with small pools which they set up in the evening with tables for dinner. Further into the complex is a lovely large pool with a bar and plentiful seating, situated within gardens. Lots of pots with beautiful flowers and other greenery.

Our room was off the garden but there was a small enclosed yard in front of the room which restricted the view. The room was spacious but a little dark and there was a smell of damp. Ther was an amazing large sunken marble bath in the bathroom.

Free wifi is available in the courtyard where dinner is served (reception is also located there and the breakfast room is just off it).

Food at the restaurant was lovely. We had two dinners and a lunch there and each was excellent and beautifully presented. Breakfast was a bit disappointing... But I am finding this common to all the hotels we have been to in India (with the exception of the Imperial in Dehli- excellent breakfast!). It wasnt bad, just rather nondescript. I had some nice scrambled eggs, toast and the kiwi and pineapple were very fresh so there was plenty to keep me going!

Laundry is charged by the item but is reasonable provided you don't want too much done!

A really lovely place to spend a few days, very tranquill and relaxing. A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We only stayed at the Samode Haveli for 3 nights, all of which I had a bit of food poisoning, but I will try to not let that reflect in what shouldn't be a bad review!

This hotel is visually stunning from top to toe. We stayed in the Sheesh Mahal suite after being wowed by the pictures of it online. In person, it is indeed a very pretty room but.. it is a little dark. It's a very large room but it only has small, very deep set windows that (if anything), seem to obscure the light!
In the evenings it has a very luxurious, gorgeous feel to it but in the middle of the day when you're too ill to be outside, sitting in a room with all the lamps on isn't very nice.

The hotel food was ok but a little salty. I recommend maybe one meal here because of the live music and nice atmosphere.

The hotel was clean and well looked after but the one thing I did steer clear of was the pool. Everytime I was near the pool I saw clusters of pigeons bathing in it and noticed it didn't get covered up at night. But take your chances if you wish!

The service here was the high point of the hotel. All of the staff were wonderfully friendly and went that extra mile! I forgot nail clippers and one member offered to bring in some from home!
On our day of check out, our train wasn't til late in the evening so I was sitting on the large bed by the pool and a member of staff brought me over some blankets and sat with me for a while as he knew I was ill :)

My one complaint is the way they treat cats! Watching a bellboy running round the pool chucking bottles of water was completely shocking (if not slightly amusing...)

Room Tip: The Sheesh Mahal suite just isn't worth the extra price and lack of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greedy-Whiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in one of the more modern rooms in the property. Extremely spacious and comfortable although possibly lacking some of the character of the rooms in the original part of the building.
The staff were all very attentive especially those in the pool bar (they make a mean Bloody Mary).
The pool was very welcome after a hard day's sightseeing (although the water was perhaps best described as bracing which isn't that surprising in February).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.7 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
9.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 372 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.8 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 372 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
7.8 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 372 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
3.4 km away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#32 of 372 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Property: Samode Haveli
Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing