We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Jaipur(Jaipur)
US$84
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$174
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Krishna Palace(Jaipur)(Great Value!)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Umaid Mahal(Jaipur)
US$75
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,412)
Filter reviews
2,412 results
Traveller rating
1,797
443
105
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,797
443
105
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarble archcinnamon restaurantchef pankajluxury roomflute playerroyal experiencebeautiful propertypuppet showspecial thanksindian restaurantswimming poollike royaltyduty managerf bhousekeeping staffexcellent hospitalitymemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,918 - 1,923 of 2,412 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

By mistake we first showed up at the Rambagh Palace property also operated by the Taj - where the experience began as it did when we stayed at the Lake Palace in Udaipur. However, we were redirected to where we had booked ourselves originally, which is this property, the Jai Mahal.

Sprawling property, with interesting birds walking about, well situated for exploring Jaipur and shopping, but it seemed the property was getting a bit tired....but the staff tries hard to compensate for it - and service was excellent. The rooms are spacious, well laid out, but the windows are thin and do not keep the sound out, especially when the adjoining pool area is being used for wedding dinners, events and shows - which can be annoying when you are trying to sleep. Given it's size, we also saw tourist groups using the hotel (possibly the orient express package) - which takes away from the intimacy that some of us desire

The food, compared to other Taj properties, doesnt hit the mark, but once again the breakfast set-up was the best meal - accommodating any taste - with personalized service.
The pool was nice and clean, albeit a bit cold, but the massage/spa experience more than made up for anything that was wanting. They also have a cultural show, elephant polo (which i missed), lifesize chess court, and a functioning business center (which i had to use for work faxes)

Like any other Taj property, the service was par excellence, and overall a good experience. But makes me wonder about the Rambagh Palace (higher $$$)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the pool area....
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atul1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nice building and grounds, but the interiors are looking a little tired. We had a room overlooking the garden - a good size, but nothing special. We did get to watch the preparations for a 1500 guest wedding, which was fun, The expected noise was bearable and stopped around 10.30, so no problems. Got to see a match of elephant polo during the wedding, which was special (and a bit slow!). Dinner in the Italian restaurant by the pool was lovely and great service. We also ate at the Indian restaurant 'Cinnamon' which was good - nothing out of the ordinary. Breakfast in the buffet was very average, with a fellow guest sneezing all over the uncovered hot food selection. Didn't eat much that day! The next day, we ate on the terrace (with a musician!) and found out we could order Indian meals. Had a fabulous Masala Dosai, which made it a wonderful start to the day.
We also had a facial each. Pity it isn't by the pool where the massages are - it is a walk away in a damp, dark depressing hair salon. However, it was cheap, with a vigorous massage and pretty good!
As usual with Taj hotels, the staff are what makes the difference. The Business Centre staff (for computer access) were fabulous. The concierge staff were amazing - car and driver? look after our luggage after check out? mehandi (henna on the arms and legs) for my daughter? - all done quickly and with a smile. I cannot praise the staff here enough - made our stay even better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

From the minute we drove in we were charmed by the grounds. The staff was extremely welcoming and our room was very spacious. The hotel was clean and well kept and the service impeccable. We have stayed in 3 hotels on our trip, in various parts of India that were meant to be the same caliber, but Jai Mahal takes the cake. Location was terrific, a short drive to the major sights. Didn't eat on the property aside from the breakfast which was delicious - good variety of Indian and non-Indian items and of high quality. Also we loved that there were always house keeping carts around with bottles of water that we were able to grab on our way out. An added bonus was that locals had events there like weddings and this gave us a peek into traditional customs. I wanted a palace and I got one!! Only disappointment was no free wi-fi but I guess emperors didn't have wifi ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is reminiscent of past opulence where every luxury is possible. We are enjoying the grounds full of peacocks, pigeons and parrots. The flowers are fragrant and beautiful. The keys to the rooms are extremely large! larger than the size of the palm of your hand. Where are you expected to put them? The room and amenities were fabulous as was the view outside. Unfortunately the fixed dinner menu we received fell well below standard.

Room Tip: Ask your travel advisor to check into what is being served for a fixed menu.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A beautiful spot with service to match. The old maharajahs had excellent taste and have left their stamp on this lovely spot. The service is absolutely great and the grounds a dream to wander about in. Our stay included an elephant polo game (don't expect high speed thrills!) and a vintage car exhibition being set up just as we left was an added bonus. The food is good - but avoid the bar. Our two large malt whisky aperitifs cost more than the subsequent meal for two!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanHelsing007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews