We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly for any request”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #39 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Certainly for any request”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I was intially schedule to stay at this property for 2 days, but changed my flight twice and stayed an extra two days. This is due to the fact that this property simply put is exquisite.

Being a Platinum Ambassador Club member i was upgraded to a Junior Suite, and i must say even though the view was a partial city and sea view it was still brilliant.

Now to comment on the service all my requests were met with the word Certainly, and I cannot stress how good it felt when i ordered Eggs Benedict at 4 pm and the request was met with the word Certainly. They didnt even check with the kitchen staff, which is the normal response from most hotels. I would also like to mention a few staff members by name who i think make this property special.

1) Priyanka (Reception)
2) Imran (Butler Service)
3) Sanjay (Concierge)
4) Also the Duty Manager (Unfortunately i have forgotten his name)

Since this hotel is located in South Mumbai, which is the older part of Mumbai and in my view the better part. Therefore you cant find fault in the location as well.

If i am visiting Mumbai and have work or a few days off in India I will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    190
    62
    15
    28
See reviews for
91
161
66
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here Feb 2012 for two nights -well one and a half as we had an early flight to catch.
Great welcom from reception staff and really nice room although not much to look at from windows to be honest.
We took adavntage of the hotels limo service to have a drive round Mumbai,our driver was very very good and a perfect guide, he ensured we saw,Gandhis house where we had a good look round,the tiffin boys at work,the outdoor laundry,Taj palace hotel,gate of india and lots more ,if you want a quick show round Mumbai I would recommend this serivice and if you can get Sanjeer our driver you will be very impressed although i bet all drivers are good.The food we found good in the restaurant and we also ate on roof top bar where I had best steak in a long time.Excellent service from the staff and we complmented one staff member by name as we left on a hotel compliment slip. The drinks to be honest were very expensive but as we were only there a short while we put up woth this.The service did make up for this issue.
Both nights at Hotel were heard knocking and banging noises from the near vicinity of our room ,it even woke my wife who is a very heavy sleeper, having said that it didnt spoil our stay too much but I wouldnt stay agin without being sure of a quiet room,i suspect the hotel staff were working on rooms through the night as when we left at 3am a staff member was near our room cleaning somthing or an other.I wouldnt stay again unless I was sure of a quiet room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as our room on side looked onto a very drab property and an ally which was used as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewlefkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ideal location for all the sights in South Mumbai. From the moment we arrived to check out 5 days later the quality and service we experienced was simply excellent. Fabulous views from the rooftop bar, lovely bedrooms, all the little extras and more. You'll be surprised by the standard of their restaurants, delicious food, really delicious. Would be my first choice hotel, highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hotel is well located on the long Marine Drive at Churchgate south of Mumbai city centre and offers terrific water views and city lights and is easy walking distance from attractions such as The Gateway to India. An unexpected "upgrade " from King Seaview to Corner Suite obviously improved our impression of the hotel. Needless to say the room is large , with all expected features of work area(with fax!), lounge and sitting area and bed all in a sweeping arc bordered by floor to ceiling windows framing the seascape panorama. Huge bathroom with great lighting and mirrors over dual hand basins and even a TV screen embedded in the glass wall behind the bathtub. There is a multi choice of pillow styles and the bed was a great comfort after some other Indian beds experienced. The breakfast in the Italian restaurant was a surprisingly limited buffet but did also offer an a la carte selection. Great views are also on offer at the very popular Dome bar atop the hotel where the small pool is located. Dedicated , personal service was experienced from all staff encountered during our "too short" two night stay. Excellent business and tourist hotel in a boutique size. This small hotel also has strict but well handled security checks on all arrivals.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must and the corner suites are large and offer best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I simply adore this hotel. I love the rooms. I love the location. I love the view. And I love the bar. Service is good but the front desk staff are a little strange, lacking in the manners department but this may be a cultural issue more than anything else. I find that Indian hotel staff always have trouble smiling. Also, breakfast is not so great but my last stay was over a year ago and maybe they've improved. But I like the property so much, I'm willing to overlook those issues.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayenne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

Firstly we are thankful for your feedback on this forum.Yes we have made several changes and upgrades to various aspects in our hotel to enhance our customer experience.I am sure your next stay with us will not disappoint you.

Please do let me know when you plan your next trip to Mumbai and to our hotel.I assure you that i shall personally look into making your stay memorable.

Thank you once again for your review and i looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards

Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
2.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.2 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#57 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
1.7 km away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,546 reviews
2.1 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#30 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing