We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms”
Review of Hotel Royal Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Castle
Ranked #148 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent location at this rate. Rooms are decent. Service is average. Room service extremely poor. Overall clean property. Food is bad but you have plenty of options around the area. I had a good one night stay here.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms if they fit in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep_07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Was visiting mumbai frequently but this time am here as a tourist rather a regular business traveler so booked hotel in south mumbai and believe me I never seen mumbai so b'full earlier..... this hotel is best b'coz of location and ambiance also everything u want is at almost walking distance from here..... I say yes to this and suggest a go hotel to everyone.....

Room Tip: Room no. 27 is very small so plz don't prefer this room if u stay here.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit8695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Royal Castle is good positioned, you could easyli get a taxi and reach the the important sightseeing attractions. Our room was big enough for two people and it was clean. A disadvantage is that you can't open a window so there's only the ac and that brings no fresh air into the room. Our clothes were smelling. Smoking seems to be allowed in the whole hotel. The service was a bit to officious and they kept our change money directly as tip.
Wifi is available but you have tob pay extra. All in all in was good but next time we would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffiAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

STA Travel booked me this hotel as my first night in Mumbai, I thought I'd 'splash out' on a nice hotel... this one being £35 per night which is rather a lot for Mumbai.

As it was my first night in India, I had nothing to compare it to.

The staff were 'ok' but not exactly over friendly. The guys carrying lugguage were nice though I am not used to people carrying my lugguage, there seemed to be about 8 of them doing this job so I felt I had to let one of them do it and give them a tip.

Anyway, the room was terrible... NO windows... very noisey air con that was half hanging off the wall. The ceiling in the bathroom had open electric wires coming out. Generally a very depressing room.

I had no idea where I was in Mumbai, so spent the first night wondering about, and found that this is not normally an area where tourists go. I found Chowpatty beach though, and that was a very cool place to hang out and get a massage etc.

I got next to 0 hours sleep whilst there.

I stayed another night because I was trying to work out where to go.

The next day I stayed in the more touristic area called 'Colaba', in a little hotel right by the Taj Mahal Hotel and the Gateway to India. It cost about £8 and was much nicer... with balconies and windows.

I think Royal Castle should be much cheaper, especially for a room with no windows.

Room Tip: Just say you need a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Got to know of it in Makemytrip as I preferred to stay in South, it is really reasonable with a friendly staff and efficient service. Location is good too, get cabs pretty easily. I would refer this to everyone, go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanishqaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgarwalDeepak, Owner at Hotel Royal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Royal Castle,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your testimonial.
We are delighted to know that the facilities and services offered at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai met your expectations.
It is motivation from discerning patrons such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our utmost focus at Hotel Royal Castle, Mumbai to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards
Deepak Agarwal,
Director
Hotel Royal Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Hotel Kumkum
Hotel Kumkum
#70 of 465 in Mumbai
266 reviews
Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#69 of 465 in Mumbai
123 reviews
Hotel Orient
#277 of 465 in Mumbai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel City Palace
Hotel City Palace
#135 of 465 in Mumbai
120 reviews
Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Hotel Sapna
Hotel Sapna
#155 of 465 in Mumbai
31 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#81 of 465 in Mumbai
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Castle

Address: 76, August kranti Marg, Gowalia Tank | Off kemps corner, Next to Cumballa Hill Hospital., Mumbai 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: €31 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Castle is a contemporary, budget, family run hotel. It has over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry with "Clean and Value for money accommodation with extremely personalized services" as our motto. This hotel is suitable for both a short or for along term stay and is fashioned as the fusion of the modern facilities with a family atmosphere. Hotel Royal Castle is ideally situated in the posh residential/business district of kemps corner in south Mumbai. The hotels strategic location in close proximity to tourist destinations including historical temples and mosques, shopping malls, railway stations, consulates etc. is most favorable to our guests. The hotel is at 10 minutes drive from Mumbai central Station and 15 minutes drive from C.S.T Station. The local Grant Road Railway Station is only 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. From the International airport it is a 45 minutes drive to the hotel. Sea Beach 0.5 to 1km Shopping malls/Multiplex 1 to 2kms Historical Temples and mosques 1 to 2kms Consulates 0.5 to 2kms Famous Eateries/Pubs/Restaurants 0.5 to 1km Situated In the posh Locality of South Mumbai: China Garden 0.5km Costa coffee 0.5km Domino's Pizza 0.5 km McDonald 1km Indian Restaurant 0km Indian Fast Food 0km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing