We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very different than other hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterstones Hotel
Ranked #47 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very different than other hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

the rooms here are very vibrant with different colours, shades and textures on the walls. it was a positive shock to enter the room and find a stone table just in the middle of the room. the overall service is good, only negative is that the restaurants are in another building and its not easy to locate them yourself! and it is not overstaffed like most other 5 stars.
service - perfect, staff - welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    200
    57
    16
    13
See reviews for
66
77
36
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in a suite*(see note below!), well decorated in a modern but cosy style. Lovely large bathroom with a roll top bath, separate shower and twin basins. Room service was excellent, they served anything we liked at any time of day and had an afternoon turn down service so the room was always clean and fresh. The real draw are the leisure facilities, the pool is pretty big enabling actual swimming rather than just a dip and the gym, changing room, steam room and sauna are very clean. There's also a mini movie theatre that you can book and watch any dvd you like, a billiards room, well stocked library (which is also a very relaxing place to while away the time), a games room, bar, cafe and restaurant. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. There's always a lifeguard by the pool and a swimming coach on hand to teach any youngsters. All in all a nice little oasis in the heart of Mumbai.

*Note - we did have one slight situation when our bedroom ceiling completely collapsed, landing on the bed. Fortunately we were out at the time. We were compensated with a bottle of wine which we were ok with at the time as we were just so relieved we weren't in bed! We were moved immediately to another suite but interestingly the standard was nowhere near as high - however, this was July '11 whilst still 'Gordon House Suite's' so quite possibly they've renovated since - check before you book.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has recently been renovated. It's also probably best to avoid monsoon season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipaFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Very odd hotel, had a great deal of work carried out recently so most areas are new, the club area is lovely, bars, library, games room and pool all really well thought out and very nice, not sure about the hotel itself all a little disjointed, but staff lovely and shuttle to and from airport very good and free! Still some work being done will be nice when complete. Could be cleaner in the bedrooms but could be refurb dust. Certainly unusual and funky, good spot to be relaxed. Only mins drive from airport.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkieholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

It was indeed a pleasant stay. It's priced reasonably with 5 star facilities, even though the large swimming pool at the clubhouse, merely steps away, was under repair. All staff were extremely friendly and I thoroughly did enjoy my stay. I am quite picky as to which hotels I book myself in but I was overwhelmed with this hotel. The hotel is only 5 mins from the international airport. It didn't look all that great from the outside but we were surprised at how quiet and private the place was. Thank you Waterstones for making our stay a pleasant one!!

Room Tip: There are several themes to choose from. We were on the 3rd floor with the rain forest theme. Everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Gordon House Suites has amazing ambience inside the room, great television collections! good food, best in India with all flavors and spices...cleaniness was good and it was one with spa within the hotel...breakfast has good mix of south india, north india foos and continental food....serives was nice, with hotel cab available all the time :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supriyapunyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#15 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai
#56 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bo...
#32 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#27 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterstones Hotel

Property: Waterstones Hotel
Address: | Mumbai International Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#39 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterstones Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes driving distance from the Mumbai International Airport, Waterstones Hotel epitomizes the authentic quintessence of Boutique Hospitality at its best-small, luxurious & very intimate. Distinctive architecture, atypical design elements, attention to luxurious comforts and other distinctive touches characterize the Waterstones Hotel; providing a richer and special guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing