We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vegetarian food a meat eater will ever eat”
Review of Dum Pukht

Dum Pukht
Ranked #39 of 13,287 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We have been in India for 3 weeks adjacency tried many places both cheap and other wise especially in Delhi.This formal restaurant with impeccable service beautifully set up served the best vegetarian we ate in the whole trip..so much so that we left most of the lamb on the plate.

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the grand fine-dining experience that we endeavor to offer at Dum Pukht.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about our royal Indian cuisine and warm, gracious service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Waiting for our number to come at the famous Bukhara restaurant at the ITC Maurya, decided to check out this restaurant. Is famous for its Awadhi cuisine. Saw a number of certificates hailing it as No. 1 restaurant in many lists just next to its entrance door. Ordered vegetarian hara kaebab and dudiya paneer kebab. Both were extremely delicious and melt in the mouth creations. This was followed by Qasa e Pukhtan (Paneer in tomato gravy), Murgh handi qorma, Subz biryani and assortment of breads. The famous dal bukhara was also there (the dum pukht verison) which was also wonderful. Biryani was accompanied by the most delectable raita. Breads included Khamiri roti and naan. Must say that all the members of the group had a great time and loved all the dishes. Sweet was Shahi tukda and gulab ki kheer. Was definitely a good decision to celebrate the occasion at this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank varmasurabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about Dum Pukht.

It is a delight to know that you enjoyed the bespoke dining experience that we strive to offer here through our royal & elegant Awadhi cuisine.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

If you do not mind walking through a winding corridor in the ITC Maurya Delhi, withstand your shopping prangs through enticing shops on either side, and at the fag end climbing down marble steps, you will certainly arrive at a great set up called Dum Pukht. The cuisine is essentially Awadhi, which is an amalgamation of Indian and Mughlai style. The food has retained unique blend of condiments and spices of nineteenth century, relished by Nawabs. The unique style of simmering the food for a rather longer time in sealed utensils, so as to retain the flavour till it reaches your table, explains the name Dum Pukht (sealed or suffocated to perfection).

Dum Pukht is a much underrated brand that deserve huge appreciation and acknowledgement. Not many persons would be aware about this outstanding restaurant with delectable entries in the top most Delhi hotel. The fact that this restaurant has been there for all the 35 years that the hotel has been operational speaks volumes about the legendary blends that one can expect here.

Those who are short of time may find the service a little slow, but that's how you are supposed to relish food when you eat dynastically! Food was a serious business then, and is so even now!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandeepsahajpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback about Dum Pukht.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the grand dining experience that we endeavor to offer here through our royal Awadhi delicacies.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and Service. The restaurant decor is attractive Staff is very courteous. Dishes prepared by chef are delicious.

Thank aktooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about Dum Pukht.

It is a delight to know that you enjoy the royal dining experience that we endeavor to offer here through our rich Awadhi cuisine delicacies and warm service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

"Dam Pukht" - "Beathe in Cook"
Words can't define as they have brilliant ambience, food and exceptional staff. Everything is just wow about this place. Table booking is a must. Their awadhi cuisine is heavenly in taste. Subz biryani is great. Their breads are very different and undoubtedly divine. Staff is extremely helpful. Their kebabs are good. We simply enjoyed everything about Dum pukht..

A must visit place with quality assurance from ITC.

Thank ketansinghania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your delightful review about Dum Pukht.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the royal dining experience that we endeavor to offer here through our rich Indian delicacies.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dum Pukht also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dum Pukht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing