We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Southern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Southern
Ranked #583 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed in two super deluxe rooms during our trip to Delhi and other popular near-by places. We stayed twice - for 3 & for 1 day during our trip (hence, the review is based on 4 different rooms). The rooms are good by budget hotel standards (approx.15 feet x 15 feet) with spacious toilets. Like other typical budget hotels in Delhi - it has converted office floors/ nearby flats into rooms - the lobby and rooms are on two separate adjacent buildings.
What’s good:
1. Honest and transparent hotel staff (if you have stayed in other budget hotels in Delhi – you will know what I mean)
2. Hot water available late at night (@1.30 a.m. – hot water was on the tap!) and early in the morning (@4 a.m.) – very good for transit travelers
3. Pick-up and drop from airports and railway stations on a spacious Innova (Our pick-up was 1.00 a.m. – the hotel person was patiently waiting!)
4. Good complementary South Indian breakfast with soft Idli’s (even in winter) - ready by 5.30 a.m.!
5. Good follow up from the front desk – I got calls both the time- to confirm our arrival time

What’s not:
1. Only rooms at either ends of the floors have windows. All the other rooms in between do not have. Even though it has centralized a/c – it can make you feel claustrophobic.
2. Few rooms have incomplete screens on the window.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows and are more spacious. I felt the rooms on annex 2 building are better. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manopai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    70
    64
    56
    84
See reviews for
139
49
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This was the last stay in our north india trip.We are happy to experience the hospitality.The staff were really professional. The Delhi tour was well planned. The advance was refunded when the required vehicle was not available while alternative arrangement was done.The location was convenient and the staff kept punctuality.Of course the were small although cosy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodmorning17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Excellent location,nice spacious rooms ,value for money.
Good supporting staff,airport pickup and drop facility.they have large number of vehicles so you can book car at best price and also they have very good tour packages.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maramBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I strongly advise all tourists to stay away from this hotel....

We experienced electrical shortings on our floor which means smoke was coming out of everywhere, the fridges and tvs stopped working, and nobody really helped.

food is bloody disgusting and the staff are just rude as anything....
surprising as in delhi most hotels the staff run around backwards for you, must be a south indian thing ???


when checking out the manager just didnt care that our experience was so awful and didnt offer any compensation.

If you do one thing take my advice and do not stay in this dirty hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed in summer. My friends complained because some bad smell. After request for change of room, we moved to another room. But the room is also some problems. It is necessary to more effort to maintain rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songdavid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sri Nanak Continental
Hotel Sri Nanak Continental
#632 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 km away
Fabhotel Karol Bagh Metro
Fabhotel Karol Bagh Metro
#102 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Hill Palace
Hotel Hill Palace
#100 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Good Palace
Hotel Good Palace
#198 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Park Inn
Hotel Grand Park Inn
#104 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel High 5 Land
Hotel High 5 Land
#564 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Southern

Property: Hotel Southern
Address: 18/2 Arya Samaj Road | W.E.A Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Southern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Southern is a "Friendly Hotel" located strategically in the heart of India's capital and in close proximity to Connaught Place. We are committed to providing personalized, professional guest service and "genuine hospitality". Our mission is to create loyal, satisfied customers who will return to our hotel repeatedly because of the quality and value offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Southern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Southern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing