We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gorgeous Hotel in Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 703 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel in Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Taj Mahal hotel over a weekend while on a business trip in December. The hotel was lovely, and the only reason why I didn't give it top marks was because our room smelled strongly of spices in the morning (we may have been a few floors above the kitchen), and it was difficult to sleep through.

Pros:

-the service! It was attentive without being overbearing. A small example: I got sick while eating at Wasabi (the sickness was NOT related to the food) they brought out a gelatin dessert to help with digestion and wrote "get well soon" on the plate. Again, this was just one of many instances where the staff was attentive.

- Security

- Food: the restaurants are delicious, as is the room service.

Cons:

-The strong spice smell

- Security: We had to walk through metal detectors and have our bags screened at the door. It was somewhat annoying when you just want to get to your room after a long flight (again, this is also a positive)

- The rooms are slightly dated

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    439
    79
    34
    15
See reviews for
211
350
178
863
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed here several times and continue to be amazed by the excellent hospitality of this hotel. The location is great, rooms are fantastic and food is yummy. But what is really amazing is the service. The hotel anticipates your needs and makes sure that you are 100% taken care off. Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Hospitality at its best..great location..good breakfast..very attentive at club lounge..attention to details and a sincere effort to please the guests..taxi services easily available and very honest attempt to make your stay a memorable stay

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tani2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Wonderful place, Great location. Expensive though. Ideal for a hifi business trip

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reddyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed two separate nights during our tour of India, and on the second visit we were upgraded to a suite. Now that's what I call a loyalty programme! I would describe the Taj as more of a business than a tourist hotel, but even so it was pretty much ideal for us. The location is good and the north-facing rooms have great views across the greenery of Delhi towards the Rajpath and India Gate. Welcome was warm and courteous and all the hotel services were first rate. First night we ate in the Machan all-day restaurant, and on our second visit had room service in our suite. Both good and well presented and prices very reasonable for this class of hotel.

Room Tip: North facing rooms are quieter and have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 703 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
5.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
2.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#12 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#21 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.8 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#19 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing