We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace in the midst of chaos”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A haven of peace in the midst of chaos”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a suite by the very friendly reception staff. The driver they sent to pick us up from the airport was on time and in place and infact we used him all day the next day for a tour of Old Delhi.
The room was immaculate.
We ate in the Spice Route restaurant the first night and the experience was worth the cost. The Indian restaurant the next night was not so good but acceptable.
Swimming pool area was well looked after with willing and attentive staff.
When we returned a week later after our tour on the Palace on Wheels coming back to the hotel was a breath of fresh air.
I do not how it compares to other hotels in Delhi but I would return here again and again.

Room Tip: Did not se other rooms but Heritage Room looks good. This is what I booked but we were upgraded so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,022
    552
    187
    84
    43
See reviews for
415
1,091
217
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here on a stopover before continuing on to northern India. The staff make this hotel what it is - polite, hard-working, and sincerely friendly. The public areas are a real treat - great ambience, with a whiff of colonial charm. The prize has to be the Spice Route restaurant - lovely food, served in delightful surroundings. Breakfast was also of a high standard, with interior and outside seating options. In an ideal location if you wish to explore Delhi with car and driver, and on a limited timescale.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyefordetail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our second stay at The Imperial, we had already stayed there in 2010, November, for 4 days, and we didn't think twice about this time. The hotel is elegant, but has a welcoming feel to it - the service is always kind and professional, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the smell in the corridors is a well-thought detail. The food in the restaurants that we tried (Spice Route and San Gimignano) is delicious as well as in the breakfast, which is best taken at the veranda, by the garden. This time we were positively surprised by the new spa, which has a wonderful decor and atmosphere, and impeccable service.
I would definitely stay here in another visit to Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

the Imperial is a delightful representation of colonial architecture. The problem with staying here is that other similarly priced venues in New Delhi far exceed the style of service and the personal involvement of staff so that the hotel just is not worth the price. That is not to say it is not a lovely place to stay,it is simply that places like the Taj Mahal offers so much more that the experience of India at its best will not be had at the Imperial. The service at the Imperial is erratic at best. The inconsistency which is reflective most likely weak managementis is painful when you look at the beauty of the hotel. Comparing to the Taj Mahal the Imperial appears dumb and disconnected whereas the Taj Mahal is crisp, motivated, and offers extremely personal services. I stayed at both hotels and you can see to where iI would return

Room Tip: do not stay on the first floor, check the room for mold. The wary of diffusers and to much rose perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 3 days in February. We were in a Deco Suite. The entire stay was amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly & solicitous. The suite was gorgeous, the bed very comfortable. The spa & fitness center are modern, spacious and clean. The Spice Route restaurant was amazing - gorgeous decor & incredible food. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.8 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
1.1 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,648 reviews
0.5 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,707 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,687 reviews
2.4 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing