We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Amaltas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mint Casa(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tavisha Hotel(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(New Delhi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Athena Hotel(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Megha Sheraton(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
122
62
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
62
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet locationresidential areawould highly recommend this hotelmain roadnew friends colonylajpat nagarfree internetrooms are bigswimming poolhotel is locatedawesome hotelcentral delhiroom service isnehru placeexcellent stayhot waterbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Mantra is a decent property with good high walled and airy rooms which are not common in Delhi. The rooms are clean with average amenities. The location is though a bit difficult to find. The staff is very courteous and helping. They though lack professionalism, our room was not cleaned till we arrived at 9.00pm in night. It seems that they are also in shortage of staff, we had to wait for atleast 20 minutes to get a wine list which the resturant manager siad they had only one. I requested for room slippers which they could not provide and I think that a Hotel of this caliber should provide such amenities alteast in chilling cold weather of Delhi. Overall the experience was good if not the best.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was a bit noisy because of close vicinity to the reception.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YogeshIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

After ten days in india we found the hotel and the location an Oasis, very relaxing after walking Delhi. It is situated in a very quiet area of New Delhi, about 20 minutes by Tuk-tuk from CP.

Many tuk-tuk drivers did not know the place so perhaps you will have to look for different tuk-tuk drivers until you find one who can drive you there.

The hotel is nice and clean, nice staff, breakfast so-so; we did not try the restaurant because we went to Indian Accent, about five minutes walking from the hotel ( do not miss this restaurant ).


Cons ?: two beers at the restaurant 800 rupees, horrible cofee at breakfast, 1250 rupees for transfer to airport and

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here one night at the start of a long tour of India. The hotel is in a very qquiet location in South Delhi and we got an excellent nights sleep. The room was very comfortable indeed. The staff were very professional and very helpful.
The location gave easy access to the main road south to Agra when we left.
Possibly a little expensive but Delhi is now getting more expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Our best hotels are found on Trip Advisor. This intimate place is nestled in a private community. The staff, food and accommodations were a welcome treat after a full day of traveling. We stumbled on this and made it a destination on both ends of our trip. We arrived late and they were kind enough to make us some food before retiring to our room. The room was a generous size with everything you need for a relaxing night. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: All the rooms here looked the same. Quiet and attention to detail are important.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Due to some unforeseen circumstances, my boyfriend and I, and some of our friends, stayed at the Mantra Amaltas as a last-minute option. We spent two nights there and if I had the decision to make over I wouldn't have chosen the hotel. While this hotel is billed as a luxury hotel, and looks to be one from the pictures, it really isn't up to western standards even though the price tag is.

The room was clean, but not clean enough - the bathroom had fingerprints and stray hairs that definitely weren't ours. And when you took the time and started to look closely at everything, it was very noticeable that the craftsmanship of the building was lacking - it's easy to envision this place in 5 years time when it starts to really age and decay.

The swimming pool is filthy which is a shame as it was featured on the website as being a usable facility when it clearly wasn't. It's in a dark, unfinished lower section of the building and it didn't look like it had been cleaned in weeks. There was a weird dirty froth and bubbles on the surface and the water was kind of murky and stagnant (if definitely didn't look safe for swimming in). It's also worth mentioning that the hotel is still in construction so the view from both rooms' windows was of a construction site only 15 metres away.

Also, speaking of false advertising, the hotel was listed as having a business centre but when I phoned reception to find out where it was I was informed it hadn't been finished and I was invited to use the mangers office and computer. Since I didn't have access to my own computer I took up the offer but it was very weird to be sitting in the underground office on someone's work computer. I do, however, appreciate that the staff accommodated me and speaking of staff, all in all they were very helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel is also kind of weird. It's on a main road and it's super hard to flag down taxis or rickshaws on that main road. We found that we'd have to start walking while also jumping around like idiots to find a driver willing to stop on this busy, crazy road. Once you'd found a ride, it was about 15 minutes (by rickshaw) to Connaught Place.

It's also worth mentioning that the hotel has a restaurant which is terribly overpriced for predominantly thawed out frozen foods. Only eat here if you are desperate. The soup I ordered was bland and over-salted and tasted like ocean water with a hint of Tomato. The bread rolls were quite obviously over-microwaved so that were served to me as little, hard bricks that you literally couldn't bite into. As a joke I tried using my back teeth and after much gnawing managed to tear the roll in two!

If we had our time over I would definitely not have chosen this hotel. If you're looking for real luxury then look elsewhere and if you're just looking for a quickfix night of accommodation go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Headwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avininder, Owner at Mantra Amaltas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to have not lived up to your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to just point out that:
1. We have not ever held out that we are a luxury hotel. We are not the Leela nor the Aman nor the Oberoi, The Maurya or The Imperia.l These are luxury hotels in Delhi and have a room tariff starting at about twice as much as ours and going up to as much as much as five to six times our tariff. We just aim to provide good clean accommodation at what is in Delhi, a reasonable price.
2. We have a kitchen that has a round the clock service and we have about eleven chefs working here. We do not serve any frozen food at all. In fact just to point out the fact that the TDH menu (including a soup, starter,, main course and a desert) with non vegetarian food is presently priced at about $9 and the vegetarian at about $7. This is of course excluding taxes which add another $1.50 to the fare. If that is indeed "terribly overpriced" we apologize but are really not in a position to reduce it any further.
3. The swimming pool has still not totally complete. I would like to point out that even today we are showing the pool,on our website, as not having opened and that we shall be opening shortly. We have only had a brief trial run. When we do open we shall, as we have done with all other facilities in the hotel add pictures and the 360* tour of the pool area. The pool is indoors and the facility is air conditioned to suit the harsh Delhi Summers. the area opens out into a private sun deck and leads onto the garden. We do feel that in times to come this facility shall be a stand out facility in Delhi and be well used.
4. The hotel faces a main road but neither is there a direct access to it from the Road nor is it correct to say that we have added photographs that falsely depict the hotel. We are in a residential colony which is one of the finest in Delhi and we take pride in that fact that it is also one of the safest areas in Delhi. Numerous reviews by other Guests have repeatedly called it an "Oasis" in an otherwise chaotic City.
We could join issue on other points as well but our intention is to just point out the ones where empirical facts are available. We have really been unable to identify you as a traveler and as to when you did actually stay at the Hotel. if you would be so kind as to let us know which room number you stayed in we may be able to rectify the other issues you had with workmanship etc. We would be grateful if you do tell us so that we can improve our services.
Thanks otherwise for the vote of confidence in our staff. It provides them with a lot of motivation.

Avininder Puri
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews