We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
30
7
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
7
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home stay south delhi hauz khas home away from home one night residential area stayed here for nights business trip ajay hosts homestay stopover cuisine accommodation property amenities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The room was well equipped, bright, clean, well- lit and well organized. The bathroom is lovely, with a rainshower head and lots of counter space. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have lots of counter and cupboard space, as well as in-room coffee and tea, and a small fridge. Ajay and Madhu seemed friendly & engaged, and kindly brought Masala chai to our room each morning. They’ve created a really lovely space here with some gorgeous touches. Good location in an interesting neighbourhood... short tuktuk ride to good shops and excellent restaurants

What I think is important is that people understand that this is a very personal space shared with the owners. I was under the impression that it was more like the other “homestays” we stayed at all over India, but in fact it’s a single large apartment that you’re sharing in close quarters with other guests. We did not expect this, and generally like more privacy. Of the three nights we were there, we initially had a neighbour in the next room that had a crying baby, (which was not really an issue), but for the other two nights the other (new) guests were entertained by the hosts, cooking and eating dinner quite late (I actually went out to the dining room and requested that they lessen the volume - both nights after 10:30) While the hostess, Madhu, was sympathetic and apologetic (as we were checking out the last day), I think it might be better, if they choose to provide a meal for guests, to present it at an hour more respectful to their other guests. This is definitely a B&B - and is great if you don’t mind this kind of personal interaction. We prefer the more hotel-like atmosphere that we found in the many other homestays we stayed in all over India.

Another issue for us was that the balcony in the booking.com photos is actually very congested and doesn’t allow any kind of view. We almost always try to stay in places that have an attached (relatively private) patio off of our room so we can sit out in the evening with a snack and glass of wine and enjoy something to observe ... roads, parks, construction, we don’t care..... but it was impossible to see anything out of this patio, so we did not use it. The patio was a major factor in my choice to stay at Deer Park Villa, so this was disappointing.
You might also want to bring eye shades for this room, as when the other guests turn on their bathroom light, (as happened ALL night on our final night) it shines right into your room/eyes through gaps in the (pretty) curtains.

Another concern was that when we returned to the apartment after a long day of exploring, we found both doors to our room (Main and patio) OPEN about 6 inches each. This did not feel okay, although everything was intact and fine - I think they’d just been in to clean. But it made me uncomfortable.

As other guests have mentioned, it’s good to have an accurate sense of direction if you’re staying here, as often the tuktuk drivers need a lot of help to find it. A sign of some kind would be greatly helpful.

I think that if you like the personal B&B type of experience, that this is an excellent option.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LisastevanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We stayed here one night before flying home to UK and it was good to stay in such a pleasant spot with such nice people. We only had time for a walk in the nearby deer park but that was a very nice park. The hosts were pleasant, friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Our room was modern and well equipped. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Merriott-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDeerPark, Owner at Deer Park Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Merriott, Greetings from Deer Park Villa !!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! We take note of all the good things you have said about us and it resolves us further to keep doing what we love doing and that is serving our guests in a friendly and helpful manner. You are an avid India visitor and it means a lot to us to being recommended by you.

We continually keep improving the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Thank you for staying at Deer Park Villa, New Delhi and we hope that you will consider us for your next India trip which may be sooner than later.

Sincerely,

Madhu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We loved our week stay at Deer Park Villa. Kind, conscientious, respectful, comfortable, delicious - just a few words to describe our experience. All of the positive reviews speak for themselves. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmleve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDeerPark, Owner at Deer Park Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Happy Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Stay. We too enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care !

Warm regards
Team- Deer Park Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Fresh air. Beautiful interior and yummy breakfast! Deer park in several minutes. There are a lit of trees, beards and animals. This place is really wonderful! You will no need keys for go out. There are video security and lock for all territory by night.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaGusevarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDeerPark, Owner at Deer Park Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear Anna, Hi !!

Thanks for taking out time to review your New Delhi stay with us. We are happy to note that we could make your stay safe & comfortable and worth writing about.

We appreciate your kind words for us. Thanks.
Merry Christmas & Greetings for the New Year !!

Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

My wifw and I stayed in this Home Stay for one night on last 14th December-17.
I felt like staying with a relative. Madhu and Ajay are real good hosts.
The Food was excellent vegetarian though and very reasonably priced. The break fast was extremely good and crisp. However they serve Egg preparation. Omelettes served in the breakfast was excellent.
I recommend this place for stay in Delhi be it for a family trip or business trip. I will definitely be a returning guest.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRGUHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDeerPark, Owner at Deer Park Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017


Dear Mr Guha,

Festive Greetings !!

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for all the kind words about us. It makes us happy as much as it made you happy writing about the same. It makes it worthwhile for us that we could make you feel as if staying with a relative.

It's a fact that we serve vegetarian meals only. Eggs/ omlette in the breakfast is a non issue.

Look forward to your subsequent stay when in Delhi.

Warm regards....Ajay & Madhu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews