We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
270
66
17
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
66
17
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveprivate deckfeed the fishwater taxiour honeymoonhear musicbreakfast deliveredbastimentos townsitting roomdouble doorsfish foodsound carrieskayaks and snorkeling equipmenttwo twin bedsromantic getawayon stiltswater bungalow
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We just returned from our visit we spent 3 nights here as our splurge place to stay. From the website and the reviews this place looks fantastic and it is, but the noise from the bar across the bay is terrible. I truly feel bad for the owners of this place, they are wonderful people and we had a great stay. There is not much they can do about the noise, the acoustics of the bay amplify the sound from the bar almost a mile away, the local music plays on until 3-4 in the morning on weekends. They give you earplugs when you arrive to help you sleep at night. For the price I am not sure this is worth it.

The place itself is spectacular. The rooms are top notch, beautiful wood, comfortable beds, great spots to relax. the bungalows over the water have steps and you can walk into the 80 deg water. They have a guy who paddles around all day picking up any trash in the water and this area is the cleanest in the whole bay of old town. The viewing hatches under the glass coffee tables are a neat feature, with lots of fish coming eat the food you can drop to them.
We did not have any issues with bugs, we brought bug spray but never ended up using it.
Breakfast that you get for free with the room is simple and plain; coffee/tea, some fruit and jonny cakes with jam and butter. They bring it right to the room which is a luxury, but a bit disappointing when you think about how much you are paying to stay here compared to what you get for breakfast at other places nearby. We did not eat dinner or lunch hear but other guests told us the food was good. Drinks are expensive relative to other places on the island.
There is a trail to walk in the jungle behind the hotel, they have kayaks and snorkeling gear you can use, there is a small reef just out infront of the hotel.
You can't walk to town from here (you can but the path is difficult and impossible at night) The water taxis will come get you and drop you off right at the hotel, they have a nice dock to get in and out of the boats. Just wave the flag and someone will come pick you up! You will hear these boats starting around 7 am as they wiz by your room to shuttle people around.
The staff here is very nice and very helpful.
This is a very nice place, but it is expensive.

Room Tip: Amazing views from all rooms, the further out and to the left have a bit less boat traffic
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing, fun place! The owners, Malena & Leonardo from Buenos Aires, are great ppl who live behind the resort...they speak Spanish, English, and Italian, and help you with anything you'd like to do: surfing trips/board rentals, boat trips, Argentine bch bbq's, info, restaurants, etc.. their staff is really friendly & polite.. The complimentary breakfast & attached restaurant is outstanding. An over water bungalow w/ cieling fans and a 4-poster bed with mosquito netting, and an amazing balcony with 4 steps into the sea were all hilites !

I originally chose this place for its ambiance & romance, but I wound up coming to Panama alone; there were a few cpls here with children, and its also great for a solo traveler.
Included are free kayaks with paddles, paddleboards, snorkeling gear, and bch towels.

A fantastic experience for 3 days/3 nites.
The snorkeling, gentle waves for surfing, and the seafood & local ceviche were some of the best I've ever had anywhere !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank alanm4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Every now and then, you stumble onto that magical place that you never want to leave, and we found it with this place.

My husband and I decided to stay at Eclipse de Mar to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. When planning our trip we wanted something that was both romantic with some adventure. Isla Bastimentos was able to provide both.

From the time we arrived until the time we left 5 days later we were in paradise. The place was so beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. Our welcome with Souji made us feel right at home from the minute we stepped onto the dock. And Santiago was always helpful in setting up tours and recommending places to spend the day or eat.

We stayed in Bungalow 3 which exceeded expectations. There is no air conditioner in any of the units, the natural island breeze was enough to cool us at night. There is no swimming pool, the ocean is directly under your room for you to swim in. There were lizards and bugs, which is to be expected in setting such as this island.

The restaurant on site was wonderful and provided a delicious breakfast every morning. We ate here for dinner on two of our nights and the food was very good.

On our last night as we sat and watched the sunset from our bungalow I actually cried that we had to leave. Elyse de Mar and their staff paid attention to the details that distinguish a good vacation from a magical one!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow, they are worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 5 nights at this place. At first glance everything looked great, the place is really beautiful. The only big problem is something they didn't tell us and probably they won't tell you, there are chitras everywhere (a bug similar to a mosquito but smaller).

The thing that really bothers me is that we asked to the person who showed us our bungalow if we needed to worry about mosquitos or other bugs but she said there was nothing to worry about it. There are no mosquitos but it is really hard for me to believe they didn't know about chitras as them being locals.

After being eaten alive (with more than a hundred bites both me and my partner) we searched about these chitras and you can find a lot of warnings about these insects in Bocas. We are really mad they ommited this important information even when we asked in order to take cautions like using insect repellent.

If you stay here please take the proper cautions to avoid being eaten alive by the chitras!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LeoP147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

My new husband and I stayed at Eclypse de Mar for our honeymoon. We had always dreamed of staying in the overwater bungalows of Bora Bora or the Maldives, but finances and time made this unrealistic. Eclypse de Mar is the PERFECT alternative for those looking for that overwater bungalow experience at a fraction of the price! The room was beautiful, and the private balcony over the water was truly heaven on earth.

One of my favorite features about the room other than the obvious beauty of it being over the water was the hole in the floor under the coffee table where you can feed the fish. It was so cool to see all of the tropical fishing swimming under you right there in your living room!

Because of the nature of the overwater bungalows, you must be prepared that you are basically outside at all times. There is no AC, and you may find a critter or two from time to time. We were fully expecting this, and it did not bother us at all.

Eclypse is in a great location, as you get the peace and relaxation while at the hotel, but are very close to nightlife in Bocas Town. It was very easy to get a water taxi whenever we wanted, and we liked having the option to go out for a little nightlife when we wanted to.

We would definitely recommend Eclypse de Mar to anyone looking for the Overwater Bungalow experience without breaking the bank!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews