We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
41
61
32
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
61
32
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit bocas del toro cereal upstairs balcony safes fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We were here for 5 nights. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean, and it is central to everything. Some people have complained about breakfast here, so if you don't like fresh fruit, coffee, and some assorted breads and cereals to start your day this isn't the place for you. Everything is functional and easy to use. Thanks again to the amazing staff here, you made our time in Bocas comfortable and relaxing.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlexKidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

During a recent visit to Costa Rica, we had time and opportunity to do a short visit to Bocas del Toro, and as this was part of a package offered by Explore Outdoors in Puerto Viejo, as well as the fact that we had limited time, we did not have too much choice in terms of accommodation.
The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, although there was a discrepancy between the room that we were under the impression we were going to have and what we ended up in initially. Being low season, the staff was not only willing, but also able to give us a different room although this did entail paying for the “upgrade”. The hotel is an interesting landmark in the area in the sense that it used to be the headquarters for the huge and well known Chiquita fruit exporting company.
Downside is that apart from the upstairs communal guest balcony, the views from the rooms are limited to looking at buildings no more than 10 meters away on either side.
The rooms were clean, and spacious with in room safes and air conditioning. The bathrooms seem to be small compared to the room. Beach towels were available at a $2 cost per day. As far as meals are concerned, they function like a bed & breakfast with no actual restaurant on site serving other meals.
This in itself is not a problem as there are a multitude of restaurants within a minute or two walking from the hotel.
Affordable, clean, but basic.

Room tip: Only real view is fro the 2nd floor communal breakfast area balcony
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Comfortable and clean and the second floor veranda is the best place to see what comes off the first ferries while having breakfast and a good view of main street...Maybe a little expensive but rooms are limited in Bocas Town

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank luc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Had a great stay Here for three nights while Exploring Panama. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building that has been nicely refurbished. Breakfast though not huge was good and I never left wanting more (great Coffee!). Eating breakfast on the balcony was a treat watching the town wake up. Our room was in the back of the hotel, away from the noise of the town, Bed was super comfy. Staff was pleasant. Would absolutely stay again.

Room tip: Rooms in the rear of the hotel are quieter.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvrvwmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I'm so torn on what stars to give my stay. Charming older hotel, nice staff, simple breakfast, clean room. We stayed there for four nights. We picked this hotel because it is at the end of town and assumed would be quiet. Starting at about 11:00 at night until 4:30 in the morning the bar across the street was loud! One night at 3:00 in the morning fireworks started to go off.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews