We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
272
120
43
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
120
43
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse grinder in town bocas del toro the main street very nice hotel ferry dock other islands fresh fruit the hotel staff every morning the ground floor would definitely stay here again first floor nice breakfast laundry service comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights in late January flying in from Panama City. The hotel had said they would organise a free transfer from the airport, but in spite of confirming via email the night before it never arrived, eventually we gave up and as by that time all the taxis had left the tiny airport we had to walk with our luggage (for a 5 week trip so they weren't small bags) we were almost at the hotel when a van pulled up next to us - the missing transfer, by now 40 minutes late, and they took us the last 100 yards, blaming the hotel management for not telling them. Initially management took no responsibility for this saying it was the suppliers fault not theirs. However on pointing out that in that case they need to sort out their suppliers and that it just wasn't acceptable to leave people stranded, they offered us an early check in, some wine and fruit. However I suspect the early check in would have happened anyway, and the wine was disgustingly sweet cheap, fizzy wine, undrinkable. The fruit was okay. We paid nearly $200 a night to have a luxury suite with a balcony with a sea view. The room was rather run down, not matching the pictures on the website at all - the electrics were unbelievable, the equipment in the kitchenette was very basic and mismatched. But the view was the biggest disappointment - it was mostly of buildings opposite and the road that was between the hotel and the sea, and from early in the morning huge lorries started queueing there for the ferry to the mainland that goes from just a few yards away. Many of them left their engines running for ages and as this is the road right next to the breakfast patio as well as underneath many of the balconies, the fumes and noise were very unpleasant. We paid a lot of money for this room expecting a luxury room directly looking over the beautiful caribbean - we weren't expecting a drab, shabby room with noisy lorries and buildings between us and the sea. See my photos and beware!

Room Tip: if you want a sea view get a room on the top floor so you can see over the buildings opposite - you'll still hear the lorries though!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blimeynotanotherid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We had suite 301 which had a large wrap around balcony with views of the other islands and waterways.
Room was clean and well appointed with full size fridge, stove, and even dishes and utensils.
Located just at the end of the Main Street, it was close to everything but enough out of the way to have quiet when you wanted.
It is literally directly across the road from the Jager Nights Catamaran dock which is a tour I also highly recommend. It is also beside the ferry dock so around 9 am, you’ll have to listen to all the trucks unloading.
Breakfast was fine, but not super. Our WiFi only worked in the bedroom and not the rest of the suite. Funny enough though, we were a block away at the Flying Pirates stand and the WiFi worked fantastic.
The hotel felt safe and staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Bocas Town.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CampinTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed here twice on my two trips to panama. The place is clean and well kept. If you don’t want to stay in a hostel this place is nice. The Italian restaurant downstairs has great gluten free pasta and the owner Hugo is a very nice guy and They aim to please!
The hotel is on the water but not the beach. It’s so easy to walk across the street and get a water taxi to some really off the beaten path beaches on the island. Don’t let this deter your decision, it’s so well located in town that you’re near everything.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank fast-triathlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful detailed review! We love our repeat guests. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The hotel is in need of repair in some areas, as it looks like it is being neglected. The floor in our room on the third floor was massively warped in front of the door, and the railings were chipping apart. The path to the front desk is also chipped, so be careful walking on it. Breakfast is ok--nothing special. It can be very loud during ferry loading and music nights next door. Beach towels are small and raggedy.
WiFi is spotty and best close to the main floor.
Coffee provided in room, and cable TV are the best things this hotel has to offer.
We moved after 3 nights. Depending on what you want, it is ok.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Rebecca,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Palma Royale. The path to the front desk is Coral tile. You do not need to be careful walking on it, it is solid Coral. The porous holes are inherent in natural coral. We installed it for it's non slip properties. The floor in your suite is undergoing repair now. A guest left the door opened and damaged it. It is not a hazard, but it will look beautiful again soon. Yes, Bocas Town can be loud which is why we have double insulated walls and double paned windows, something you will not find anywhere but at the Palma Royale. You are correct about the beach towels, the new ones arrive from the US soon! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Bocas Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

the location was very convenient and peaceful (away from the center of town). cops are always patrolling on the main roads.

The room we had was on the first floor behind the receptionist area. It was quiet and private. the staff were so nice and friendly. the deli next store offer tasty sandwiches if you want to skip eating at a restaurant for a night. the fruit stand vendor across the street sell yummy fruits which we brought to eat at breakfast at the hotel (the staff was kind enough to let us borrow utensil set and a plate). you can't walk by pollo rosti without getting sucked into buying some pollo. totally carribean style, very flavor and finger sucking delicious. even the hotel staff recommend them!

we were provided with beach towels whenever we head out to the beach. one of the best perk is (and i really wish i knew sooner) the hotel offer laundry service for only $5 a load !!!!!!!! we did 4 loads, dropped it off in the morning and they were returned to us nicely folded at the end of the day. If i knew that sooner i would not have packed nearly as much clothes as i did. this is a steal !!!!!!!

we also booked caribe shuttle service through them to go to Costa Rica. the boat dock for caribe was a short walk from the hotel.

not sure if i should post this but there was a cat (can't tell boy or girl) black and white coming to visit us every morning at breakfast. he was the cutest!!!! he meowed for affection. was quite picky about table scraps. wouldn't eat yogurt but when i offered him chicken and my bf offered him ham, he was head over heels. We named him chickham (chicken and ham). The staff didn't want it to be a bother to the customers but we enjoyed its company during our 5 day stay.

having a fridge in the room was so convenient and when i had leftovers, the bar staff was happy to heat it up for me.

i would definitely stay here again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IamToony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa W, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We love all your fun details! Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews