We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
62
57
51
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
57
51
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big balcony late night noise facing the ocean star hotel spacious room mini fridge in town fresh fruit water bocas recepcionist island dylan taxis deck
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The hotel in general is average, although the waterfront patio where they serve breakfast is very nice and relaxing. The rooms are a good size, but need some love. The bathroom was incredibly tiny and the faucets were all rusted. Although the location of the hotel is very central, that is also its main flaw, since it is located two doors down from the loudest club in Isla Colon. If sleeping is among your plans I'd strongly recommend you stay somewhere else. The personnel is very friendly and recommended some very nice spots to visit around the island.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank XtremeTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel in floor 2 and 3. We checked in and i paid with credit card. The recepcionist used a iphone app to charge me. 2 hours later if found an email saying thanks for using our app and we charged you 11.50 US D for our service!! I complained about it and got a cash refund . Be careful with this issue. I asked also for a room with ocean view for my son. His room was in the corner facing the street. I saw empty room in other floors facing the ocean . I was told we are fully booked which was not true . Anyway the place has seen better days. A lot of people hanging around in this hotel , but nobody is really improving the place with cleaning, painting etc. I told my wife not to use the balcony , because the structure starts disconnecting from the wall. This is caribean lifestyle, but you have to see it . The breakfast was ok and free. The most annoying part of the room was the rusty “Motel 66” 6000 BTU A/C from 1975, which was installed in our room. This is simply not acceptable . The noise was terrible at night not to forget the energy consumption .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank golfpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Many thanks for your review. Lets tackle your issues one at a time - Our credit card system is via Tab which is designed for tourists. The system charges you in your home country so as to avoid international transaction fees. We explain this the transaction is being processed, you opted in, then changed your mind, you insisted on cash back which we did, and we paid your banking charges, we aim to please. You booked balcony rooms, the ocean view suites were fully booked.You might have seem people checking out of the rooms but there would be new guests arriving the same day, we were in fact fully booked, if we weren't we would have been very happy to sell you an upgrade. The AC's are all new in the hotel, late last year we replaced all of them, they are window units, but they are not from 1975, the hotel was only built 10 years ago. We take great pride in our little hotel, we have a wonderful team of friendly dedicated staff who did everything to please you and make your stay comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights in room 305.. only room I’d recommend because the view was one of major redeeming qualities of the place. Was nice to lounge on the patio and watch the water taxis and beautiful waters of the caribean.
The room did grow on us but the building is quite old and run down and doesn’t look quite like the photos you see online.
However great location if you want to be right in town. Pretty cool the water taxis can pick you and up and drop you off right at the hotel and one of the main docks is right beside it anyways.
Place was clean enough and our room did have a mini fridge which was another bonus.
Bed was comfortable but bed frame was quite creaky.
Did notice some stains on the sheets and the sheet didn’t fit for the first couple nights until we asked for a new one.
AC worked really well but safe didn’t.
The breakfast was pretty awful..
Just a heads up a sausage omelet is cut up hot dog tucked inside a sort of folded scrambled egg.
Coffee was terrible and the OJ wasn’t something to be desired either... but if you stick with a fruit bowl some yogurt and buttered toast a free meal is a free meal.
To summarize not a bad place to stay but if you are looking for luxury I would not recommend.
Place has a lot of potential but needs some TLC.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Riley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. Yes we do have a great location and beautiful views from our ocean front rooms. We however have never tried to sell ourselves as a luxury hotel or resort. We offer a competitive price with a clean comfortable environment, friendly staff and a complimentary breakfast which may have not been to your taste, but please understand you are in Central America and you should expect slightly different styles of breakfast. As for the wrong size sheet that was a silly mistake that I did personally apologize to you for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I stayed in the Boca Paradise Hotel for two nights and it was decent. I had a room with a balcony which was really fun watching the water taxis go in and out. This place would be wonderful with a little but of elbow grease and some TLC. With just a little work it would go from okay to wonderful. Down side is a disco a couple doors down that goes to 3 am and very loud. I thought I'd be safe on a Tuesday\Wednesday but Wednesday must be another party night. Great free breakfast and the staff is very helpful. All and all it was an ok experience.

Room Tip: Balcony was fun. What a view! Best to pick a non party night. Avoid Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights to miss disco club nights.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hey Jerry, many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and appreciated our great staff. We are in the process of putting exactly the elbow grease you described into the hotel now for some TLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Bocas Paradise Hotel was good for a weekend in Bocas town. We didn’t spend much time in the room but occasionally when we were there the water wasn’t running. ( possibly because of construction on the main road/ island living) We has a room on the side of the hotel with a balcony( nice to watch the water taxis going in and out), however on the weekend the club next door was blasting music till 3 am... didn’t bother us because we are heavy sleepers but for someone who is a light sleeper/ goes to bed early- probably not for you. The bed was comfy, however the blanket had an odd smell to it. Breakfast is included however- you must get up early to eat. We went down to eat around 9:45 and they were packing things up. We never ended up eating the breakfast but I have heard good things. Friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews