We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Chinese minimalism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with the best views of the lake. The morning views with the mist and the lack of boats in the Lake are peaceful and wonderful. The interior decor is what I would call minimal , with perfectly located old pieces of traditional Chinese furniture. The flower arrangements throughout the property are both contemporary ay and serene. I would say that the property is aging in a very classy way... due to nice quality of materials. Service is great and the Chinese and Japanese restaurants are memorable

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carlos222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear carlos222222,

Thank you for leaving us a fabulous review! We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our room design, cuisine and service.

Again, we are look forward to seeing you again when you return to The Lalu for another wonderful vacation.

Sincerely yours,

The Lalu-Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

It is my 3rd visit to this resort hotel. The lake-front suite is perfectly fitting for couples and the facilities are outstanding including library, swimming pool and spa. Dining experience is acceptable yet not to top tier standard vs the other urban fine dining restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travellertpe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear travellertpe2017,

Thank you for staying with us again. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our room design and facilities.

we are look forward to seeing you again when you return to The Lalu for another wonderful vacation.

Sincerely yours,

The Lalu-Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The hotel is a great property with great service. The only problem is it's pool policy of using a hair cap they provide.

This is the first and only 5 star property I've been on that enforces a hair cap when using the pool. The pool is beautiful and probably one of the hotels best marketing tools at their disposal, pictures there would further their position on social media, just like the Marina Bay Sands did in Singapore. It is also uncomfortable as a guest expecting the best of the best at this expensive hotel to be forced to wear a Cap. Honestly this ruined my experience.

The hotel and its facilities are great. The only other problem we had is that my husband and I had dinner at their Italian restaurant and ended up with food poisoning.

Come here for the view, but don't expect to be blown away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ange588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Ange588,

Thank you very much for your message and comments made on your experience with us. These kinds of comments give us an opportunity to improve our service and facilities and the end result is more very satisfied guests.

For requirement of wearing cap in pool is for hygiene purpose and it is hotel policy since the property opened in year 2002. We are sorry to learn that you had mix feeling about it and appreciate your understanding.

On the other hand, we are not aware of you and your husband got food poisoning after dine at our restaurant. Our restaurants are HACCP certified and no similar incident has been reported recently and the management is very concern about it. Would you write us to ga@thelalu.com.tw and let us know the detail and we may investigate.

Once again, your comments are greatly appreciated and we are look forward seeing you back to The Lalu in the future.

Best regards,
The Lalu- Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Visited in 2016 with family and was wowed by the scenery and tranquility of the Lalu hotel. Location is unbeatable and view is absolutely phenomenal. However, other than these inherited known features, there's nothing to rave about,especially at the price tag it charges.

Hotel itself
The design and architecture remain one of my favorites. But being a 16-year-old hotel, you can see that the hardware is dated and a bit run down.

Service
Totally inconsistent. I've seen this time really good and really bad service, and mostly inadequate for a 5* hotel of its kind. Front staff are welcoming upon our arrival, but telephone reception, concierge, and a bell boy we run into, are unprofessional. We wanted to take bike rides and called to inquire, and we were told that it can be done anytime that we just give them a call and they give us a lift to the bike rental. Only when we called for ride at 4:50pm they then told us it's too late as rental place closes at 6pm. What a waste of time when words from concierge cannot be trusted.

Also, although hotel knows we have purchased a half-board package, we have to remind them each time, upon arrival, upon check-in,during tour and explanation of our room facility, at dinner we even need to remind them about our package, and also the cake and wine that are included. They further interrupted our dinner to discuss about a spa treatment that's booked by another hotel guest.

At dinner, there are many waiters and waitress attending to our table of 8, but they seem very new and not sure what they should do. They have trouble explaining the menu and answering questions. One waitress even spilled soup on me when she was serving it, not even an apology as she was embarrassed.

There is no consistency of service level at the Lalu; simply to each his own luck. Very dependent on who you run into.

Package
We used the birthday package they promote to people who have stayed here before. It includes breakfast and a la carte dinner, and by the numbers look like we save a few bucks had we decided to dine in the hotel. We chose the Chinese restaurant as we had good experience the last time. The dinner set consists of appetizer, veggies, soup, main entree, rice or noodles, veggies again, fruits and desserts, all in small portion, but they add up to be quite filling. But frankly nothing from the set was very good. To me, it feels like they exaggerate the value of a lady carte menu, it's not worth it.

Sales pitch
I honestly thought the Lalu should be "the" hotel of the Sun Moon Lake, but now I am not so sure. Rooms are often sold out on Agoda and booking.com, but guess what but tons are available on Ctrip. It makes me think if the hotel now is catering to the Chinese crowd. We got the package as promoted by one of the account manager. Through the interaction with her this time, I find that the salespeople have no level of authority to offer anything other than what's speculated by the company. They are hard grabbing salespeople hungry for sales.

I must admit due to my international traveling experience, often in high-end hotels, I am a demanding customer. Beautiful as it is, the Lalu is just not up to international standard when it comes to service.

I doubt I will visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Faintingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Faintingstar:

Thank you for your valuable review. The Management deeply regrets to hear of your issues during your recent stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues that have been mentioned.

As for the aging of the Hotel, we are currently undergoing different stages of refurbishments, both exterior and interior. We are targeting to complete within the near future. For the biking matters, we did provide adequate information, drop off and also pick up services but unfortunately may have missed out on providing the cut off timing which is provided by the bicycle shop at Sun Moon Lake. We apologize on this hiccup. Pertaining to your dining experience, we have taken note of the “soup” mishap and would be zooming in to rectify this area. As your package is inclusive of dinner, we do provide set menus to cater for this. We have forwarded your concerns to our F&B division for further action.

As the Lalu has many channels of reservations, we do widen our business modules working alongside with many agencies in the Travel and Trade business. Trust that we do not only cater for specified regions or countries. We apologize that our Sales person has not met your expectations and we will definitely be zooming in on this part to make improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback which gives us a chance to improve ourselves. We hope you may give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

High security hotel which is completely off limits for non-guests.
Not like your typical hotel exterior, however the interior was very unique and beautiful with a timber theme.
The staff are very friendly.
The infinity pool was beautiful.
We enjoyed a degustation meal at their western cuisine restaurant and it was devine. Compliments to the chef!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hayashikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Hayashikat,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and satisfied with our room design and cuisine.

Once again, thank you for your great comments and are look forward seeing you back to The Lalu in the future.

Warm regards,
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.8 km away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 km away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 134 in Nantou County
1,036 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 134 in Nantou County
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 134 in Nantou County
213 reviews
2.8 km away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.7 km away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#8 of 134 in Nantou County
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range: €383 - €749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing