We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing Resort in Taiwan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed in a villa and the experience was pretty cool. You have your own small swimming pool, and a view of the lake. There's also an outdoor shower inside the room (courtyard like), and lots of great photo spots in the hotel. The staff was courteous and professional. My only complaint is the lack of attention paid to fading paint work around the hotel.

Room Tip: Some villas have no view to the lake, and the one we stayed in had the most view. It's called 伯...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel may not be the newest in Sun Moon Lake, but it is the most beautiful. We had to book a suite with adjoining room for our family of 4. So our stay was quite expensive. But the views and the beautiful and spacious rooms more than make up for it. There was a message special for hotel guests that I booked with ease which was one of the best treatments I got. We would just sit in the room or on the balcony or sit by the pool and stare out into the lake. It was so serene and surreal, away from all the noises and the hustle and bustle created by all the tourists. The service was excellent, especially at the pool. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and we lingered quite a long time to enjoy the food and the view. We definitely will stay here again when we visit Sun Moon Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STJHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My friends from Taiwan told me everyone wants to stay in this hotel whenever they visit Sun Moon Lake. Just finished staying there for five nights and having been to Fleur De Chine (few years ago before they changed the name), I would recommend Fleur De Chine if you want a more modern hotel. Lalu has bigger room, has an interesting history, but I think overpriced.

You should ask to stay in the building not directly above the ferry terminal as the crowd can be noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milmil888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Recently stayed at this so called 5 star hotel for a friends 40th birthday. although the facility is nice looking and the views are good you would be better going to a 3 star hotel in the same area for a week rather than this place for 1 day. Upon arrival the staff took the credit card to secure a deposit and for some reason also took it upon themselves to take the fee off the card which is not international protocol even if you're a 1 star welfare hotel. The staff tried to assure us that no money had been charged to the card even though they had already tried to complete the transaction. I had to make several phone calls international to my bank and again to the hotel after our stay to clear up the mess. It took a week to get a response from the hotel after I have voiced my dissatisfaction and they only responded when I got a chinese speaking friend to help me deal with it. in the end they offered very weak apology and a complimentary upgrade on my next stay. after this kind of treatment there will never never never be a next stay. they want to call them selves an international 5 star hotel but they are a long way off. If you do decide to stay at the hotel if anything goes wrong just make sure you know all you will get is a polite middle finger. It might be okay for people that are fluent in chinese but when they say the staff is fluent ....not even close...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Nice location and beautiful view of the lake. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable,

The dinner at the hotel restaurants is okay, afternoon tea is better.

while in the area, I would recommend checking out the degustation dinner at Crystal Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webkamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.8 km away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 km away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 134 in Nantou County
1,036 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 134 in Nantou County
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 134 in Nantou County
213 reviews
2.8 km away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.7 km away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#8 of 134 in Nantou County
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range: €382 - €744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing