We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
137
123
31
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
123
31
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion rockone nightoutstanding service and foodoutdoor eating areasri lankaroom was cleanwestern breakfaststayed here for two nightssmall hotelnatural settingtop of the rockhot watercurriesrooms are hugeair conditioninga lovely staybreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Welcoming, friendly, smiling staff, fabulous chef and well appointed clean, comfortable rooms. Magnificent view oh Sigiriya Rock from the property. Highly recommended. Hearty breakfast and delicious curries at night, accessible to all major attractions.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Visited for 2 nights with 9yo son. Local chef was super thoughtful and provided us special Sri Lankan dinner, prepared special surprises for our son.
Manager arranged quick laundry service, breakfast was very good.
Nice and quiet place.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank kkaarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

First stop, for two nights, best choice ever. Lovely people, good food, magnificent view directly to the Sigiriya Rock - excellent place. Clean, big room, bathroom simple, but clean, absolutely fine for us - I can highly recommend this place, very friendly, lovely, welcoming and helpful staff!

Room Tip: we had room No 6 or 8, ground floor, "away" from the restaurant, lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Where to start!
The first thing when arriving was the view on the rock... so beautiful!
The rooms are also very nice. The bathrooms are pretty simple but fine for us.
The food was excellent. And the people where very friendly. Probably the best thing we will remember: meeting Nippon and Taranga! We will miss you!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ludivine0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Melrose Villas for one night as we visited Lion Rock. The hotel staff allowed us to check-in at 9:30am and prepared a 6:30am breakfast the next morning. The worst part was that it poured rain for most of the day and night, which meant the solar heated water did not provide warm water for our morning shower. The evening meal was exquisite with the chef visiting us at our room to give us the details of the menu, then visiting our table several times to make sure our meal was to our liking. Our room was clean, and the bed had excellent mosquito netting. Even though the water was tepid, everything else was outstanding.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews