We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
141
125
31
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
125
31
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night lion rock outstanding service and food sri lanka room was clean western breakfast top of the rock stayed here for two nights magnificent view natural setting air con small hotel a lovely stay hot water rooms are huge curries perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Welcoming, friendly, smiling staff, fabulous chef and well appointed clean, comfortable rooms. Magnificent view oh Sigiriya Rock from the property. Highly recommended. Hearty breakfast and delicious curries at night, accessible to all major attractions.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Visited for 2 nights with 9yo son. Local chef was super thoughtful and provided us special Sri Lankan dinner, prepared special surprises for our son.
Manager arranged quick laundry service, breakfast was very good.
Nice and quiet place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank kkaarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

First stop, for two nights, best choice ever. Lovely people, good food, magnificent view directly to the Sigiriya Rock - excellent place. Clean, big room, bathroom simple, but clean, absolutely fine for us - I can highly recommend this place, very friendly, lovely, welcoming and helpful staff!

Room tip: we had room No 6 or 8, ground floor, "away" from the restaurant, lovely and quiet
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Where to start!
The first thing when arriving was the view on the rock... so beautiful!
The rooms are also very nice. The bathrooms are pretty simple but fine for us.
The food was excellent. And the people where very friendly. Probably the best thing we will remember: meeting Nippon and Taranga! We will miss you!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ludivine0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Melrose Villas for one night as we visited Lion Rock. The hotel staff allowed us to check-in at 9:30am and prepared a 6:30am breakfast the next morning. The worst part was that it poured rain for most of the day and night, which meant the solar heated water did not provide warm water for our morning shower. The evening meal was exquisite with the chef visiting us at our room to give us the details of the menu, then visiting our table several times to make sure our meal was to our liking. Our room was clean, and the bed had excellent mosquito netting. Even though the water was tepid, everything else was outstanding.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews