We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
33
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit hard to find fantastic stay quiet location the owner clean rooms tuk tuk guest house residence supermarket transport driver
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We were welcomed at Mountain View Residence from the moment we arrived. We arrived, late at night but the owner was waiting for us.We only stayed one night in Kandy but we were very pleased to have chosen this lovely place. The rooms are simple and very clean.The owner is a friendly person and his hospitality was superb. The breakfast is really delicious, decorated it nicely and prepared by himself !!! Highly recommend this place to stay!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in Kandy for 3 nights and we’re treated like royalty was the most hospitable host we’re ever had, great breakfasts from omelet one day to proper Sri Lankan curry for breakfast another and also they invited us for food one night and made a lovely traditional meal for us, and not to mention the tea on tap. They certainly made our stay on Kandy, and nice place - clean rooms, living area and outdoor area to view the city from.

Also just to note if you walk there you can take a short cut off the road after the supermarket walk up the road (keep right at the fork) and then cut up the road signposted for green view villa or something similar like that - has a green sign and white writing, anyways turn up there and follow the road up, as it splits take the left (which is a hair pin bend) and follow this up you will eventually get to a white building at the top on the right with a blue gated area this is the place. Steep but quicker then walking road!

Date of stay: December 2017
2  Thank 393ashs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Arrived here on the recommendation of our driver. We were greated warmly with fresh tea. We had a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking Kandy. Dinner and breakfast were home cooked and delicious! You won't stumble upon this place as it is quite a way from the centre of Kandy and you will probably need a driver to find it, but it is well worth it.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I arrived after taking the train from Colombo and we had read reviews that this place is hard to find and indeed many tuk tuk drivers do not know it. Easiest thing to do is to get the tuk tuk driver to ring Indika the host as staying in this place is so worth it.

The place is just 3 rooms and a large dining area located high above Kandy. For a small premium you can have the room with view but the small table and chairs outside has the same stunning view. The best thing about the place are the hosts Indika and Sanchita (I hope I have spelt this right!) as never before have accommodation owners/managers had such a positive impact on our stay. Anything we needed we were given whether it be snacks/laundry/directions/trips.

At all times I felt they were genuine in wanting us to have a great stay and have some authentic Sri Lankan food/experiences without ever feeling they were selling us things. We went to Sigiriya rock in Indika's jeep for a price slightly higher than a tuk tuk but an hour shorter and much safer.

Tips:
1. Book this place
2. Tuk tuk to or from town should not cost more than 350 rupees
3. Laundry is cheap here
4. You can walk to Kandy via a steep shortcut (probably need a torch if dark)
5. Relatively short walk to bustop that takes you straight to botanical gardens

In summary great place, great value, great hosts and better connected than it seems to transport/roads etc.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank conorh358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My European friends and I were crushed by exhaustion when we arrived at the Residency in the early afternoon, in need of an imminent break.
We paused on the exterior terrace to catch our breaths when the manager welcomed us gleefully. The warm man instinctively noticed our tired faces and ordered for us to be served banana and watermelon juice. On top of this, he gave us directions to our hotel, tips on touristic attractions and places to eat, and bothered to arrange a tuk tuk pick up for us at a more than reasonable price. Note that he did all this with pure generosity.
I can't judge anything more than the service, but I can assure potential guests that it probably can't get any better.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Loïc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews