We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
423
335
63
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
335
63
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house smiley face homemade jams train station busy road sri lanka clock tower non ac the owner within walking distance central location hot water no elevator few minutes walk tooth temple clean rooms main road
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Sevana is a small, friendly well run hotel. Many Kandy guesthouses and hotels are located up a hillside, or a tuk-tuk ride from town, but the Sevana, on the street above the main post office, is just a few minutes walk from the bus and train stations or the city centre and the lake,
First choice for value and convenience.
The breakfast option is well worth booking.
Rooms are simple but clean and quiet - a/c an option.
The owners are very informative about local attractions.
Obs! The entrance is set back from the street and easy to miss. I walked right past it. Sevana is halfway between the Hindu temple and the pedestrian overpass, 20m north of the prominent green "Villa 92" sign.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irlantilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March and was pleasantly surprised at how clean the place was, particularly the bathroom for the price. We chose to get AC but there was also a fan so maybe not necessary. Our room had a door our to a little garden which was really nice. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to check in early. We also chose to have breakfast one morning which was very good, perhaps a bit more pricey than other places in Kandy at 750rupees but this included fresh fruit, egg cooked to your choice, toast with a range of jams and a drink of tea or coffee. The hotel is very well located for staying in Kandy. We easily walked to the temple of the tooth, sanctuary park and restaurants. I would recommend to anyone looking for western standards of cleanliness but local sri Lankan hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aisling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The hotel is located within walking distance to nearly everything. The rooms are clean and the staff are very professional and friendly. After reading reviews, I booked room 106 as it had it's own private garden terrace. The road in front is noisy so it might be advisable to take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast was simple but delicious. it was a good place to stay for 2 nights.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sevana Hotel for two nights and it was perfect. On our modest budget, this has been the best hotel we have stayed in Sri Lanka without spending more than planned (~$30USD). The hotel looks and operates like a proper hotel in the West; the room was clean and comfortable, there was really hot water, friendly staff, and fast WiFi.

The location is ideal, with all points of interest within walking distance (no more than 15 minutes). The train and bus stations are 10 minutes away walking.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone (regardless of budget) who is looking for a good hotel at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Saimonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one day. Hotel is good.... Friendly management.... WiFi is good.... Located in the center of the city....
Breakfast we din't try over here... For Indian food try Balaji dosa which is very close to the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Savi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews