We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
423
335
63
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
335
63
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house smiley face homemade jams train station busy road sri lanka clock tower non ac the owner within walking distance central location hot water no elevator few minutes walk tooth temple clean rooms main road
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights. There are a lot of good things going for it - it was spotlessly clean, the owner is very welcoming, the location is brilliant (close to town but you barely hear the road) and the bed is comfortable.

The downsides were the following - the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything being said in the corridors. We tried to book a room without hot water but all were taken - our hot water then kept going off intermittently during a shower (defeating the object of having it at extra cost). The staff were helpful in switching it back on again but within a minute of being in the shower it would go back off. We mentioned this but were not offered a discount.

Finally, we were told when we arrived that there would be a 10% service charge added onto the cost of the room and this was no problem - we expected that the room would be serviced (i.e. emptying the bins). This didn't happen so we asked what the service charge was for when we left. It was explained that it is actually a charge for tax. This is the only hotel that has charged us in this way and the explanation we were provided did not satisfy us fully - we would have preferred the overall cost quoted originally to have been higher rather than disguise an extra 10% charge as "service charge".

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a nice family run establishment in Kandy. The hosts were extremely friendly, and they offered nice rooms at reasonable prices. Our room opened up onto a garden/terrace area overlooking the street, it was a nice place to sit down and relax. They had great internet access with reasonable prices, computers and wifi available. Taxi, tuk-tuk, and meals are all available. It had a nice location in the center of town, lots of food choices close by.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Stay there in 2 ocassion for total of 5 nite. Like the place a lot. They have a roof top that you can chill out. And the host is very friend and teach me a lot thing about Sri Lanka including tea, history, the political :)

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sames2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Sorry for the delay of the review...
I just came back from my trip and I have to say that Sevana Guesthouse was one of the best places I stayed at in the last months!
We went there in July to see the famous Perahera. The owners of the guesthouse organized the best seats in town for us, so we had a great view and an amazing evening!
The rooms were absolutley spotless and much better than the rest I´ve seen during my trip in Sri Lanka. Also the food was delicious and organized for us even late in the evening...
We really enjoyed our stay there, thank´s a lot for everything!!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

This place is a great stay while in Kandy. We had a double room with fan and hot water for 2300 Rs. Very clean rooms, clean sheets, good pillows etc. Located in the centre of town, close to many good, cheap eateries. Lovely people working here. Food is over priced so we didnt eat here. Would recommend!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Easas589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews