We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
411
330
61
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
330
61
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house smiley face homemade jams train station clock tower busy road the owner sri lanka within walking distance hot water air con few minutes walk clean rooms main road tooth temple central kandy comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

A Great Place to Stay

A great value - a convenient location for all the usual tourist attractions. To visit the botanical garden (about 6 kms. From the center),  it's about 300 rupee (US$ 2.5) tuk tuk ride one way and 16 rupee bus ride back. There are plenty of restaurants, small groceries, and fruit juice shops around. (The big Muslim restaurant/hotel near the clock tower is specially good.)

The rooms are of comfortable size (about 18 sqm. with a balcony for some of the rooms) clean and well kept. The nice surprise for us is each bed is with a proper comforter (not too thick, necessary for an aircon room) instead of a thin sheet for blanket that we found in most of the previous places we stayed.

To top all that,  Mrs. Sakunthala's  (the owner) knowledgable advice and help make us feel we are in the right place. Thank you ka. 

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here twice, once 2 nights in March 2012 and 2 nights in April 2012. I was very pleased both times, the rooms were nice and affordable, as well as the people who own the place.
Super!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed for 3 nights had a clean comfortable room with ac. the family who run the guest house are very friendly and helpful and are a mine of information on places to see and transport options.we had breakfast each morning and when we requested fruit as a change for the usual eggs you get every morning for breakfast in srilanka this was provided in abundance..As the guest house is in the middle of kandy its easy to get around you can easiy walk to the lake.2 night we ate at a near by resturant lyons which is excellant and serves alcohol.we also had tea served in our room on several occasions at no extra cost.

Room Tip: choose a room with ac
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recommend this hotel if you want a hotel in Kandy. Friendly staff and clean room.
Location of this hotel is among pharmacy, optic store and clinic.

www.sevanakandy.com
Email : sevanaguesthouse@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Sevana for 5 nights at the end of March 2012. The place is really nice, immaculately clean, spacious rooms, and well insulated against the noise from the street. The service was simple, and unimposing, but always willing to help. Kandy is pretty big, so you cant really get a location thats near everything, so this is nice for the cheap local food, and to be a short walk from the hustle and bustle.

Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews