We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location”
Review of Sevana City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevana City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

A Great Place to Stay

A great value - a convenient location for all the usual tourist attractions. To visit the botanical garden (about 6 kms. From the center),  it's about 300 rupee (US$ 2.5) tuk tuk ride one way and 16 rupee bus ride back. There are plenty of restaurants, small groceries, and fruit juice shops around. (The big Muslim restaurant/hotel near the clock tower is specially good.)

The rooms are of comfortable size (about 18 sqm. with a balcony for some of the rooms) clean and well kept. The nice surprise for us is each bed is with a proper comforter (not too thick, necessary for an aircon room) instead of a thin sheet for blanket that we found in most of the previous places we stayed.

To top all that,  Mrs. Sakunthala's  (the owner) knowledgable advice and help make us feel we are in the right place. Thank you ka. 

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here twice, once 2 nights in March 2012 and 2 nights in April 2012. I was very pleased both times, the rooms were nice and affordable, as well as the people who own the place.
Super!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed for 3 nights had a clean comfortable room with ac. the family who run the guest house are very friendly and helpful and are a mine of information on places to see and transport options.we had breakfast each morning and when we requested fruit as a change for the usual eggs you get every morning for breakfast in srilanka this was provided in abundance..As the guest house is in the middle of kandy its easy to get around you can easiy walk to the lake.2 night we ate at a near by resturant lyons which is excellant and serves alcohol.we also had tea served in our room on several occasions at no extra cost.

Room Tip: choose a room with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recommend this hotel if you want a hotel in Kandy. Friendly staff and clean room.
Location of this hotel is among pharmacy, optic store and clinic.


www.sevanakandy.com
Email : sevanaguesthouse@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Sevana for 5 nights at the end of March 2012. The place is really nice, immaculately clean, spacious rooms, and well insulated against the noise from the street. The service was simple, and unimposing, but always willing to help. Kandy is pretty big, so you cant really get a location thats near everything, so this is nice for the cheap local food, and to be a short walk from the hustle and bustle.

Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.2 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.3 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
518 reviews
3.6 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
2.5 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevana City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevana City Hotel

Address: 84 Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sevana Guest House)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: €23 - €43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevana City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Sevana City Hotel have clean spacious A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bathrooms (with hot/cold water). All our rooms are mosquito free and are provided with fans. We serve delicious western and Eastern food and we also have a taxi service which can be provided at a reasonable rate. We are located in the center of the city, therefore all important places in Kandy can be reached within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sevana City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevana Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing