We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value in the centre of kandy”
Review of Sevana City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevana City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed for 3 nights had a clean comfortable room with ac. the family who run the guest house are very friendly and helpful and are a mine of information on places to see and transport options.we had breakfast each morning and when we requested fruit as a change for the usual eggs you get every morning for breakfast in srilanka this was provided in abundance..As the guest house is in the middle of kandy its easy to get around you can easiy walk to the lake.2 night we ate at a near by resturant lyons which is excellant and serves alcohol.we also had tea served in our room on several occasions at no extra cost.

Room Tip: choose a room with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 422 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recommend this hotel if you want a hotel in Kandy. Friendly staff and clean room.
Location of this hotel is among pharmacy, optic store and clinic.


www.sevanakandy.com
Email : sevanaguesthouse@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Sevana for 5 nights at the end of March 2012. The place is really nice, immaculately clean, spacious rooms, and well insulated against the noise from the street. The service was simple, and unimposing, but always willing to help. Kandy is pretty big, so you cant really get a location thats near everything, so this is nice for the cheap local food, and to be a short walk from the hustle and bustle.

Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is probably the only place we stayed in Sri Lanka that I cannot think of anything bad to say about. The rooms was very spacious and had places to sit other than the bed (which in my experience with guesthouses is not common). The bathroom was basic, but nice. The people who worked there were always very friendly and helpful with whatever I needed. I never ate here, as 700 rupees for dinner seemed a little steep, so I can't say anything about the food. I also enjoyed that they are situated away from the other guesthouses and hotels so you get a little better feel for the local culture. It's a 5-10 min walk to the downtown area and the tooth temple. Great, great place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bballbronco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Ok… walking down stinky busy Peradeniya Road can give a bad taste to anything in its realm, but we were recommended this hotel by some people who had just stayed there and now I know why. The unassuming looking hotel is set back from the road and is surprisingly so well insulated from the street noise - that was the first great thing. The people who run the place are a large family and all really lovely and warm people. They leave you alone and yet are there for you for anything and everything should you need it. The rooms were for the price range - the very cleanest and best in the whole of Sri Lanka - a big call - but true! Hot showers, quiet and noise proof rooms, Wi Fi, really comfy beds, and very secure doors and locks, great prices, I love this place and will definitely go back. I really just can not find a single problem - The location - it took us 5 minutes to walk to the bus stop, 6 minutes to the train station, 8 minutes to the centre of town. Awesome!

Room Tip: … all good I guess! The family is very honest - they will tell you which ones are better than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.2 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.3 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
519 reviews
3.6 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
2.5 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 58 in Kandy
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevana City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevana City Hotel

Address: 84 Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sevana Guest House)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: €24 - €44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevana City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Sevana City Hotel have clean spacious A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bathrooms (with hot/cold water). All our rooms are mosquito free and are provided with fans. We serve delicious western and Eastern food and we also have a taxi service which can be provided at a reasonable rate. We are located in the center of the city, therefore all important places in Kandy can be reached within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sevana City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevana Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing