We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people and great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Royal Palms Beach for two weeks in August. I found it relaxing and enjoyable. The staff are the best assets, the hotel is well kept and comfortable.
We used all the food outlets and can say that it was good. The exec chef and his executive sous chef (Asantha) provided good meals and they even have a kitchen tour to show how well it is run. The service team are good and friendly we hand Sandun serve us in the Oriental restaurant and mostly Pradeep and Raj in the main restaurant all of them were very efficient and helpful.
Not only just eating was a good experience but the gym guys were good at getting us up and about to classes or help in the gym .
You can relax by the huge pool and the pool guys made sure we had beds.
The cleanliness was really good our room attendant Chaminda took great care in cleaning. All in all good the only downside was the railway track outside that made for quite a bit of noise when the train went past but apart from that it is great .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjana G, Front Office Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments with us and thank you for highlighting some experience what you had. We are happy to hear that, you have had a memorable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back again.

Thanks Again
Anjana Gunawardana
Front Office Manager
Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

The hotel was very comfortable with a most impressive foyer, our room was kept clean and tidy by a very attentive attendant.
The pool area was spacious with ample sunbeds and pool boys on hand to look after our every wish.
The dining, both buffet and a la carte was excellent and the staff superb, I would like to mention in particular the following waiters:-
Pradeep (Who was the senior waiter), Sampath, Panaka Nishantha, Dinusheeka Philini, and all the young trainees, they were all so very attentive and courteous and helped to make a most memorable holiday for my family and myself. The gym was also very well equipped with most professional staff on hand to give advice and guidance where necessary .
Finally, the management, who were always on hand and made themselves readily available if needed. Most professional and again very polite and courteous.
I would recommend the hotel and staff to anyone wishing to have a carefree holiday with excellent food and facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngt2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjana G, Front Office Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure to read your wonderful review as a TEAM. Thank you for highlighting, appreciating the team and sharing your memorable experience with other readers. We are look forward to welcome you once again as usual.

Thanks Again
Anjana Gunawardana
Front Office Manager
Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

One waiter was very rude to us, he told us to sit outside as the foreigners only sit inside -_-
This was an absolute lie, then he realized that he did something wrong and tried to patch things up by lying to us and saying that they were having a competition for the foreigners.
:) We were mistreated in our own country.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dinithi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjana G, Front Office Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Ms. Dinithi,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with Royal Palms Beach Hotel.
We, as Royal Palms hotel management seriously looking to your concern and will take every necessary action to avoid such situations in future. Kindly note that it is not our philosophy to treat our valued guests in differently thus i take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of all staff . We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Palms in near future.

Thank you,
Anjana Gunawardena,
Front office manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I 've just returned from our family holiday to Sri -lanka and we were pleasantly suprised.
Our stay at Royal Palms was very comfortable. Our housekeeping guy Chaminda made every effort to accommodate our needs.
We enjoyed all our meals in the restaurant and was impressed with the overall standard of the food and service. The executive sous chef Asantha was very accommodating for our meals and showed a good level of food.
The restaurant staff were very polite and helpful we found Pradeep and Theekansha particularly helpful all under the guidance from Raj.
We had nice meals in the cabanna that serve light food and found the service attentive from Mihiranga.
The gym is well equipped and very organized by Nuwan who helped us and guided us through exercise techniques.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Royal Palms for a relaxing stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Pastryval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjana G, Front Office Manager at Royal Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments with other readers. Such a lovely review will be able to share with the team here at Royal Palms Beach Hotel. They will be encouraged by your feedback and comments. They go each and every day to deliver excellence and Sri Lankan hospitality. Thank you for recognizing them!. Look forward to welcome you once again.

Thanks Again
Anjana Gunawardana
Front Office Manager
Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Nice setting, nice rooms. But very noisy which renders good sleep impossible : the locals neigbhours (living in misery at 5 meters) make loud noice giving in the rooms since 5 AM. The trains drive since early morning at just a few meters from the hotel. So the environnement is surely not a 5 stars, but maximum 3 stars.Then the room boys make a lot of noise since 8.30 AM to force you implicitely but surely to leave the room early. The building is not soundproof. Then the aerobics with heavy basses giving also in the rooms during 2 hours 4 mornings per week. At night the music is playing (no soundproof) untill midnight. So you can sleep maximum 4-5 hours if you adjust to their imposed rythms. The servers at restaurant Cabana are nice, but we found the food is often a bit too fat. The buffets in the main restaurant are OK but very expensive (3.000 Roupies per person).
The Spa is extremely expensive for what it gives (in the sister hotel, not in Royal Palms itself) for not good service. You'd better go for massages and herbals in 2 ' tuk tuk to the Massage in Oregano Spice and Herbal Garden, 41 Galle Road (massages by Erantha : 077 5865786 at Herbal Garden : 077 2847901) opened 7 days per week untill 7 PM.
In Royal Palms, we found no possibility to swim : beach dangerous (and even no transat on the beach) like in most places in Sri Lanka. The nice pool on pictures is less than a meter deep, so impossible for adults to really swim. The other area of the pool is reserved for ball games (basket in the pool, nets, handball in the pool with lots of disturbances. The jacuzzy is located in that unaccessible area where we never could go. There is a third quiet part in the pool, like a bit abandonned, with no pool boy (for bed and towels) which is exclusively very deep (2 meters).
Some people are nice, but the receptionnists smiling with nice dresses are 8 times on 10 incompetent (Roy is the best). We called and went to them many times, without any result. We did not risk the managers since we saw some of them being impolite and even agressive towards some guests.
The hotel has a lot of local weddings and receives even local screaming classes of kids from a neighbour primary school in the pool and commune parts somes days (from 8.30 AM untill 6 PM). In the week-ends the hotel is filled up by sri lankan families. Some are very nice, but some do not have the hygienical standards nor the minimal behaviors awaited in a 5 stars hotel.
If you do not wish normal 8/9 hours sleep, if you do not wish to swim, if you need heavy noise, headaches, fast heartbeating, stress etc. that is the good place for you.
The reception said they will have heavy building or renovating works next year (2018) and not close. More disturbances are to be expected then.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 468christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.3 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,265 reviews
8.2 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 9 in Wadduwa
1,471 reviews
22.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
883 reviews
20.6 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
34.5 km away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Drive, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: €75 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Beach Kalutara
Hotel Royal Palms Beach
Royal Palms Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing