We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after a few teething problems!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 night last week and very much enjoyed the food and the general comfort of the rooms.
However we had a lot of noise problems to start with. On our first night the loud hum of the air con generator outside our room prevented us from sleeping, resulting in our ringing housekeeping to get it disabled.
The second night we were subjected to hugely loud music from the bar below, which we were told carried on until midnight. As we had a very very early start for a trip next day we asked to change rooms, so had to pack and unpack at 11pm that night. The second room was great and very quiet.
So ask for a room on the west wing - the 200s - and avoid the 400s.
Lovely buffet food and a very good range.
Do dress appropriately or both men and women are given a sari to wear as a skirt in the restaurant!
The Tangerine Tours office is a huge rip off. We got an independent driver to take us to Udawalela, and then got public transport - the commuter trains (packed but fascinating and so cheap!), buses and tuk tuks - to take us to the Galle tea plantation and turtles. Much cheaper and gives a far better view of real life in Sri Lanka.
Lovely pool at the hotel though.
Loved Sri Lanka and its people and we will be back, but will tour round next time and not stay in just the one hotel.
Airport - an hour and 15 mins
Udawalele - 3.5 hours' drive
White Virgin Tea Plantation, Galle - 2 hours by train and tuk tuk

Room Tip: Avoid rooms from the 400 block - very noisy from live music Choose rooms in the west wing - the 200...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are happy to not that you had a great time with us. We sincerely apologize for the any inconvenience caused during first couple of days . Trust we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
There are newer reviews for Tangerine Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our fourth visit. The hotel is great and the pool is large with a swim up bar :) The hotel staff are very thoughtful and the restaurant staff went out of the way to help us with our fussy eater (4 years old). The food is great and the deserts are amazing! The all inclusive deal is great and makes the holiday very relaxing.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for a ground floor room as they are more convenient. However, all the rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bernadinenewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review & your repeated visits to Tangerine. We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous time with us. Trust there will be many more visits in coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Positives: incredibly friendly staff, lovely pool, great location, spotless rooms, food is delicious and varied. The hotel is smart and well maintained.

Things which could make it better: The entertainment in the evening is average, some live music was cancelled. The pool is open until 8:00, however towels are collected at 6:30! The receipts for our all inclusive drinks were often wrong, adding on drinks we hadn't had, and the meal times are incredibly busy, often having to wait a long time for drinks and to que for good. Whilst the service is always done with a smile, we often had to wait until half way through our meal to receive our drinks. The tour company shop, we never saw open, so arranged excursions online instead.

A nice hotel, served us well for 4 nights. The staff are so friendly and kind.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine & praising most of our services.
We have taken a note of some of the constrictive comments made. While apologizing for any inconvenience caused , rest assured the matters will be rectified as soon as possible.
Trust we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from the Tangerine beach hotel, had a fantastic time, we could not fault the Hotel in any way at all, the food was varied and really good quality, there was always spicy dishes/sri lanakan on and always two or three European dishes for the less adventuress.
The rooms were very clean and the staff were always courteous and always ready for a chat . the pool area and bar were spot on especially in the evening as you could sit near the pool and get the sea breeze coming in, the lion beer is a good pint and the arrack local coconut brew) but tastes like a cross between whiskey and brandy is very nice mixed with sprite or coke.

We organised our trips with Asya Tours which you can find on the TripAdvisor, Kamal was our guide he is a lovely gentleman who couldn't do enough for us while we were there. Kamal took us on two trips, first to galle which included a visit to the turtle hatchery, moonstone mine, bentota river cruise, stilt fisherman and a meal on Hikkaduwa beach( not in the price ) Our next trip was to kandy which was a day trip. whilst travelling to kandy we stopped over at a pinnewella elephant orphanage to see the elephants bathing then we went to another elephant sanctuary where we had a 30 min elephant ride. fed,bathed and then had a shower on the elephants back which was fantastic ( highlight of the holiday)

Sri Lanka is a lovely island, Hospitality of the Sri Lankans are fantastic , I would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: ocean view room 309
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaveen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are happy to note that you have a wonderful stay with us.We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel, quiet (if there are not many children), great pool - large, even for swimming. Beach is nice, but red flag all the time, unfortunately. Staff is very friendly and smiling. Food war s really good.
Just one thing - beverages - we had to sign everything, dozens of signatures for every order. I believe in 21st century, you will find a way how to make it less annoying for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Štefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine & praising most of our services & facilities. We have taken a note of the constructive comment made related to signing for All Inclusive Beverages. While apologizing for any inconvenience caused we will most certainly look in to the matter & make it more convenient for the guests. Trust we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.3 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,269 reviews
2.4 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
791 reviews
2.0 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,403 reviews
20.3 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 km away
Coco Royal Beach Resort
Coco Royal Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Kalutara
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Beach Hotel

Address: De Abrew Road | Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: €54 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tangerine Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tangerine Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangerine Beach Kalutara
Hotel Tangerine Beach
Tangerine Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing