We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant”
Review of Gimanhala

Gimanhala
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Dambulla
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
Description: Best Stopover for Traveler's to refresh, relax and for a snack. It served snacks, beverages and meals. Easy parking, wash rooms and also dinning facility.
Restaurant details
Description: Best Stopover for Traveler's to refresh, relax and for a snack. It served snacks, beverages and meals. Easy parking, wash rooms and also dinning facility.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our driver stopped here so we could grab a quick bite for lunch. Skipping the buffet option, we opted for the a la cart menu. We ordered two dishes; the combo fried rice and the club sandwich.
The club sandwich, which is a staple in most every restaurant in Sri Lanka, was one of the plainest and least exciting we had tried and we had tried many. Lacking any depth or quantity of ingredients, it was a poor excuse for a club sandwich. It was basically 4 pieces of bread stuck together with little in between. The second dish, the combo fried rice was even more disappointing. The dish offered 3 or four meat items which sounded good on the menu, but when it came it, it was easy to see that all of the meat ingredients including the shrimp- were deep fried. Not just deep fried, but overly fried to the point they tasted like shoe leather and the the shrimp was so over cooked that it had no meat inside just some crunchy dust. I scraped off all of the inedible and dried out jerky and commenced to eat my R.s $900 bowl of rice. Not impressed with places that know drivers bring tourists to and then serve substandard food poorly presented and prepared. Buffet looked tired and dry as well with very few tourists choosing that option. Either way, if your driver stops here ( as they get a free meal), think twice as there are other places around to eat.

Thank Kert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018

* Like: A restaurant belongs to Gimanhala hotel. Environment is good: parking lot, free coffee and water. Choices of food are not so limited, soup is good. You can order beers if you like. Price is reasonably not expensive. Free lunch for your driver.
* Dislike: Quality of the food is average, can’t say it’s wonderful delicious but no problem to stop your hunger.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Addicted_to_scenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Much appreciate your comment.

Wish you all the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Friend and I had dinner here. From the outset, the waiter (Seemed to be a senior staff member, named Lalit) was rude and dismissive. He asked us if we were from India. I don't want to think that the service that followed had anything to do with the fact that we were Indian.

We were not even offered water - I'm not even being picky here. I don't expect waiters to smile and/or make small talk. But offering the guests water is something basic. He was clearly tending to other tables with much better care.

We ordered a Chicken Biriyani to split among the both of us. The Menu said Chicken Biryani (Served with Onion/Tomato Raita, Chutney, Mix Fruits/Wattalappam) but when the dish was served with Biriyani Rice, 2 pieces of Chicken, some Ketchup, Yoghurt (no onions/tomatoes) and no wattalappam.

We had to check with the waiter why so many items were missing - and he then told us that Wattalappam was no available. Instead of saying that at the start, he just was going to pull a fast one and not serve some items at all!!

The food was overpriced to begin with, with 10% service charge added (for horrible service) and tax on top. The Biryani was 950 rupees. Pathetic service. Horrible experience. Would not recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikhil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Our guide from our hotel suggested this place for us after visiting Sigirya Rock and Dambulla Caves. We were starving and the buffet was a perfect option. The food was beautiful, with a range of Sri Lankan, Western and Chinese dishes. The only thing I didn't like was the noodles, which were a bit bland. The Sri Lankan curries were by far the best options (understandable, considering the location!). Try the fish curry and wash it down with a gin and tonic for a lovely meal!

Thank 341claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for visiting us. Your comment confirmed that you had a lovely meal @ Gimanhala.
Hope to see you again.
Best of luck !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Of the buffet options offered during every day the most popular are the breakfast and lunch. Many tourists visiting Sigiriya and passing through stop at this location for a meal and to refresh. The choice of buffet is very good and the staff are experienced and attentive.

Thank Panduka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mr. Panduka,

As you mentioned we are the only Star class Hotel located in center of the city - Dambulla.
We are basically famous for Breakfast & Lunch. But now have more guests for Dinner too.

Thank you sharing your experience with others.

Best of luck !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gimanhala also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to Gimanhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing