We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$119
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$49
US$43
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge le Pelican(Saint-Louis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Auberge de Jeunesse du Sud(Saint-Louis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel du Palais(Saint-Louis)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de la Poste(Saint-Louis)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel de la Poste(Saint-Louis)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$77
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Chehama(Saint-Louis)(Great Value!)
US$30
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
23
19
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
19
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscall to prayerkoranic schoolbeautiful hotelstayed herethe rivermosquebuttercourtyardsleepguidewifisenegalesefrench
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sunu Keur is a nice guesthouse in a good location on the main historic island of Saint Louis, within walking distance of restaurants, shops, etc. The design of the guesthouse is very nice, the rooms are all painted in bright colors with nice decor, as in the common spaces in the courtyard lounge and rooftop. The breakfast was basic but fine, just bread, butter, jam, coffee, and juice. The staff was OK, some more friendly than others, the female cleaners were very pleasant and hardworking, while some of the male staff were a bit strange, making unwelcome approaches on female guests with inappropriate compliments. We also asked for a lightbulb (the main light in the room) to be changed a few times but no one ever came so we ended up "borrowing" a standing lamp from the hallway. My mother also asked for extra hangers for her room which she ended up having to ask several times before the staff provided them. Unfortunately there is a large work site next to the guesthouse (January 2014) due to the new bridge construction, so not too quiet during the day, and a large daara (koranic school) is a block away so there is quite a lot of loud chanting as well as the koranic students pray, including during the night/early morning, and a speaker for the call to prayer also faced directly towards some of the rooms, which was quite loud, although hard to avoid most places in Senegal anyway and you may find it enchanting. Also a block away is the prison, which was not really a problem and did serve as a good reference point for taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiesaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

During our stay in SaintLouis, we booked the "suite" in this wonderful and very clean hotel. The room was very big, with funky colours and extremely clean. This room was like an apartment for a very good price. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Excellent address to stay in Saint-Louis. To be warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gersende M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I did like this friendly place a lot. The location is very good and you can walk to the town center within 10 minutes... Its calm, safe and clean. The view from the roof terrace is great, especially during sunsets... Breakfast is basic but ok.
It's not a budet place but still not expensive and really worth the money.

Saint Louis is a beautiful town with very nice inhabitants. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: My room was street facing, but very calm at night...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30andtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely, clean rooms and constant hot water. The whole hotel is painted in funky colours, there are sitting areas on both floors and on the roof terrace, from where there are great views. I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

On our first night we ate in the Sunu Keur restaurant. The food was good but came by taxi from somewhere else! It was still hot and tasty but it was a bit strange – ordering in a restaurant and getting a delivered take-away!

We booked a tour with the hotel. We were approached later by the “hotel guide” who asked if we wanted to do any tours. When we said we had already booked a tour with the hotel, he was confused as he knew nothing of this. He also said that the trip we had booked, to the langue de barbarie park, would not be good as there was little to see at this time of year. When we questioned the staff member we had booked with, confusion broke out involving three members of staff. As far as we could tell, we were going to the park with a member of the hotel staff not a guide, as had been promised. We cancelled the trip and made other arrangement.

We reported a broken light in our toilet but this was not repaired so we had two days of peeing in the dark. The ladies who cleaned the hotel, beautifully, were always busy and did a great job and were always smiling The men who ran the bar and office seemed to do very little.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: N'y aller pas si vous êtes en fauteuil et qu vous ne marchez pas.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews