We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
27
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
4
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night transylvania pool wines wood design city restaurant furniture
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We spent 2 nights at Castel Transilvania. Welcome at check-in was very poor. Pool area closed for preparations of a party on the next day. As we knew about the party we spent the evening in town. When we came back we wanted to have a late drink on the terrace on first floor. But they did not want to serve us because of the party. We felt really not welcome and as 2nd class guests.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My first impression when i’ve arrived was of a high class hotel which respects itself and takes the standards on another level.
The food was fancy, well-designed and soo tasty, also they have large-sized meal portions. The serving was pretty fast despite the fact that the restaurant was full.
Anyway, i was fascinated by the design of the hall and rooms which are made in a classic way, exactly like a castel!!!
Also at the breakfast i could enjoy an amazing meal. They had a swedish buffet with a lot of different types of cheese, ham, fruits, salads, yougurt and much more
I really enjoyed my sitting here and hope to come back really soon, it was outstanding!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is high end: design,staff. Located outside the city center,the location is very serene and suitable for any kind of visit. Pool,sauna,good restaurant and comfortable medieval contemporary room. The place to be

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mirela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

A HOTEL WITH MANY STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES
I recently stayed in this hotel (with my family, in 2 rooms), from Saturday till Monday morning, in order to take part to the wedding party of a relative young couple.
STRENGTHS
1.Rooms - were clean and spacious, with comfortable beds, functional wood furniture and effective electrical equipment (including free of charge Wi-Fi and TV access), nice medieval decors and beautiful sights on Baia Mare town and its hills.
2.Restaurant – was clean and well decorated, offering tasty food and excellent wines (as well as other beverages)
3.Staff – was generally effective, prompt and enough polite (with an exception)
4.Good location (outside the city) - with huge and well organised and equipped outdoor swimming pool (1,95m depth!) and spacious car parking area
WEAKNESSES
1.Shower - designed for modern hotels and hydromassage - was not fully operational as such (mainly because of the low pressure of water); in addition; its enclosure was obviously too small for the water battery’s sizes; it allowed water leakages outside the enclosure
2.The free access of outdoor swimming pool for hotel customers (as claimed by staff) was not fully recognized by the employees of its facilities (communication failures).
3.Significance and orientation of the GRILL facility (located outside the hotel, useful when the restaurant is exclusively occupied by wedding participants) were not at all relevant and clear (customer information failure)
4.Bed’s blanket sizes were not adapted to the bed sizes.
5.No shoe-horn was available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NICUDRAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

From the photos, it looked pretty corny. However, the Trip Advisor reviews were quite positive so we booked a room for one night during our road trip to see the Wooden Churches in Maramures. The hotel is located outside of the central town area. In fact, our rental car GPS couldn't find the hotel using the address provided. Fortunately, our booking.com reservation had the GPS coordinates and we were able to find the hotel. The rooms are small but all decorated in the Transylvania motif. If you are staying in Baia Mare, it is a good alternative to traditional hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveTrips2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews