We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable & Accomodating”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable & Accomodating”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Hotel Alegria is within a few blocks of Nazca's centre and steps from the bus stop. The rooms are simple, clean and have comfortable beds. The courtyard with its refreshing pool, open lounges and restaurant is an inviting place to relax. The hotel will hold luggage if you plan to check out and fly over the lines before departing for your next destination. They also allowed us to use the pool, lounge and courtyard while waiting for our 10pm overnight bus.
Reception staff is friendly; some speak English. If translation is needed, the attached travel agency/tour coordinators are willing to help.
Please note: photos will show dirt streets in upheaval as they are undergoing reconstruction which should be very nice when completed.
BREAKFAST at the hotel was small. It is suggested that one eat light, or not at all, until after their flight over Nazca Lines.
There are many eateries to choose from in town and as many recommendations as there are people you ask. We tried two and found La Encantada Cafe the better. It has both a ground floor and a second floor with balcony overlooking street (great for people watching). The food was excellent and well presented, wait staff friendly and the prices ran approximately $3 US for appetizers and $6-$7 US for main courses.
We booked both hotel and flight over Nazca lines with Hotel Alegria via email. The hotel had a promotion for booking the two together. The process was long perhaps because the airport was in the process of price increases for improvements in safety and services. Once bookings were confirmed all went smoothly.
We recommend booking your flight for as early in the morning as possible when air currents are calmer, or just before dusk when the air becomes calmer again. Suggest you wait to eat until after the flight. Our 7:00 - 7:30 am flights were calm and most enjoyable. After the flight we had breakfast at hotel and checked out. The hotel was very accommodating in keeping our luggage and allowing us to lounge in the courtyard and even use the pool until our overnight bus departure to Arequipa.
Nazca is a small town and it is easy to walk. The town is making improvements to its streets and widening sidewalks. Joseph, our guide, cautioned us to not stray beyond the main streets at night. Before heading out at night, ask advice from your hotel or guide.
For more information and video of the area, check out www traveltales.ca and click on South America then Nazca.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    85
    15
    6
See reviews for
38
114
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belluno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The only bad experience we had in peru with hotel arrangements! I booked trough go2peru (it's a prepaid system, no problems with all the other bookings) and fortunaly I decided to have all the hotels reconfirm my bookings before departure. The only one that took a while to recognize my prepaid reservation was this one, but I kept all the mails we exchanged. Sure enough the night of our arrival the deny we prepaid the room, they were probably thinking that they can take advantage of me (small italian woman....), bad decision... I stand there in front of them, absolutly refusing to pay or to go in another hotel until they called at home (it was late at night!) one person whose mail I printed and had with me. finally they had to accept the deal. The rooms are minimal and the breakfast poor. the only good thing of the hotel is to be in front of the bus station. You don't have to take a taxi late at night (not safe in Peru!), for the rest if you find an hotel that can pick and dropp you at the bus station...choose it!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annamariaeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nazca hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Good hotel to stay at. It is located in Nazca, Peru at 166 Lima St.

Good place to stay, if you are in town to view the Nazca Lines.

This hotel was part of where Intrepid Travel stays in town.

I would say its a good value as hotel was nicely made up and had a nice looking pool.

Rooms were clean and had a colour television.

The water from the shower and sink was hot and the toilets flushed quite well.

The rooms were nice and quiet and I could barely hear anyone walking around the hallways at night time.

Very safe place to stay at and good for everyone.

There was good service in the eating areas downstairs and always provided well by staff.

Location is good as your walking distance to many good eating places nearby as well as supermarkets. AS well the travel agency just next door, so you could easily book any trips to any part of everywhere from here.
Your walking distance to internet cafes and the main square in town. I highly recommend you go out for a nice walk around.

The Bus depot is just across the street, so when your arriving and departing, convenience is at your finger tips.

Breakfast provided was with coffee and juice and buns. Its adequate for the moment, but case in point Supermarket down the street in case you want more food.

Overall I would recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northcarolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

this was a nice place to stay, kids said they had alot of fun, i love the pools ,and garden.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Clean rooms, restaurant on site, friendly staff, tour accomodations, and swimming pool. Very convenient to restaurants and shops. Arranged sandboarding hike and flight over the nasca lines. Only downside was there was a club across the street that had music blaring until 5am. I guess there was some sort of celebration that night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.3 km away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
189 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
0.1 km away
DM Hoteles Nasca
DM Hoteles Nasca
#5 of 18 in Nazca
252 reviews
3.3 km away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#9 of 18 in Nazca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Calle Lima 166, Nazca, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria in Nazca is located just 5 minutes away from the Maria Reiche airport and the main town square - Plaza de Armas - near the bus station. Its superb location provides easy access to all Nazca`s tourist attractions. The Hotel Alegria was built with the latest technology in antiseismic construction offering comfort and safety. Its 48 spacious rooms have 24 hours ecological hot water systems, private bath, private Satellite TV, national and international telephone connections and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Nasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing