We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average rooms, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nazca
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average rooms, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Beside being well located in the centre of town, this hotel is quite average in the quality of service. The rooms were quite OK but service at the bar and reception wasn't quite as good as other hotels in Peru.

Having said that, this is still a good value for a one-night stay in Nasca.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelTiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    108
    76
    15
    6
See reviews for
32
104
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatape, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hotel is conveniently located across the major bus stations. So, the first hotel we saw when we got off the bus from Ica was Alegria. As we have a night bus to catch next day, we have decided to stay here for the convenience. However, since the first minute, the hotel was just noisy! Construction next door was working all Saturday afternoon and tons of car honking. It was a restless day. Nasca itself is very dusty for some reasons. But the construction next door made the hotel cover with visible dust and smellable dust all day long. The hotel noise slowed down a little at night. Yet, the worst was the club a few doors away had their music blasting all night long to the morning. It was really a restless night for us. Our room had a very strong ordor which we had to open some windows to air it that's why we heard all noise all night.

The location of the hotel perhaps was good but all the by products that came along like noise and dust were really not good at all. I would try elsewhere off the main road next time. However, staff were nice and helpful even they can't speak much English. Breakfast was too simple. Just coffee, bread, and juice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madoc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Hotel is close to the bus station which is handy. The price we were quoted was $40 US but seeing as this was Peru we had soles. When it was time to pay the bill it should have been about $110 soles but the clerk said it was $120 which is not a fair exchange. Our quiet room had roosters and dogs barking right outside. Construction crew next door from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Whatever you do, don't book a Nasca Lines flight with Alegria tours next door. They are totally unprofessional and will do nothing but screw you around. We waited our first day to go at 2 p.m. and the manager said he would come and tell us if the flight was cancelled. He didn't.
My wife went to the office and they said we could fly the next day at 10 a.m. When we went to the office, they said we could go at 9 a.m. and that was better for us because we were headed back to Lima. We asked him three times when we'd be back because we'd have to book a bus ticket. He assured us we'd be back at 10:30 no problem so we booked the bus for 11:30 for the eight hour trip.
Got to the airport and they said the flight was delayed for an hour. An hour passed and still nothing. The woman at the booth just kept saying soon. We said we had to go back and pay for the room and finish packing but she ignored us and eventually said we'd be back at the hotel at 11. Flight finally left at 10:35 and immediately the co-pilot put up a sign asking for tips. We paid $190 US for the flight for both of us and spent the whole time worrying about the bus.
Ran off the tarmac, got in the van and were back at the hotel at 11:12. Packed, ran to the bus station and barely made the bus. Alegria Tours didn't give a damn about anything. Kept saying we had to wait for them to have four people for the flight and then took us up in a two-seater. Worst experience of our three weeks in Peru.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Clean, good price compare to the other hotels in Nasca. The lobby and pool area look nicer than the rooms which are basic and gloomy.

If you are staying in Nasca during the weekend ask for rooms that are on the other side of the karaoke club, otherwise you will be kept awake until 3am!!!

Don't eat in the hotel instead go to El Pollo Loco (not the chain restaurant) which is right next door to the hotel.

Hotel rooms are different in size and comfort, don't agree to stay in the first room that is offered, ask to see a couple of rooms before you agree to check in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_S_Perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is opposite the bus station which is really handy and it's only a short walk into town. There's a swimming pool, bar, restaurant and the lay out is good too. The rooms were comfortable and the staff very helpful. We had trouble contacting the company who had organised of Nazca lines trip and the hotel staff were very helpful in tracking them down, from making phone calls on our behalf to introducing us to another really helful agent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Andina Classic Nasca
1.1 km away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
0.3 km away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 17 in Nazca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#4 of 17 in Nazca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Majoro
Hotel Majoro
#6 of 17 in Nazca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.3 km away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#9 of 17 in Nazca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Calle Lima 166, Nazca, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria in Nazca is located just 5 minutes away from the Maria Reiche airport and the main town square - Plaza de Armas - near the bus station. Its superb location provides easy access to all Nazca`s tourist attractions. The Hotel Alegria was built with the latest technology in antiseismic construction offering comfort and safety. Its 48 spacious rooms have 24 hours ecological hot water systems, private bath, private Satellite TV, national and international telephone connections and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Nasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing