We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but no heat, so rather cold to sleep in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed here for one night prior to visiting Machu Picchu. Honestly, we weren't there too long. Arrived before dinnertime and departed in the morning. I would say it was nice, but wouldn't say it was top notch as it was VERY COLD that night and there was no way to heat the room (so we didn't sleep much). Bed was comfortable, but the walls were thin, so you could hear your neighbors which made sleeping tough. If you take the 4AM Machu Picchu wake-up trip, all you get is a bag breakfast (no warm breakfast).

Room Tip: Don't take early Machu Picchu tour if you want a real breakfast. Pack warm clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We stayed at La Cabana for one night before an early morning trip to Machu Picchu. We were directed to a new building right on the main street next to the river and when we checked in we were given a beautiful, updated room on the 5th floor with a huge bay window overlooking the town. Our bed was huge (but weirdly combined a queen and a twin bed) and all of the amenities were great. The room included sinks and a jacuzzi tub in the main space, with separate small rooms for the toilet and shower.

Also, given our early wake-up call, there was no time for the hotel breakfast, but if you ask them the night before they will make you a snack pack you can bring with you to Machu Picchu. The food in ours was very basic and specifically in ours the bananas were too brown and soggy to eat, but in general, it got the job done.

Overall it was a great experience, but given the pictures from other reviewers, it looks like they had us in a different, updated building.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This hotel has been previously renovated and was absolutely amazing. I was expecting this hotel to be one of the more unpleasant of our stay but we were blown away. Everything has been renovated. This turned out to be the nicest hotel we stayed at for the entire trip. The beds were big and so comfortable, huge shower and massive tub. The location is amazing, literally a minute walk from the train station and our room was spotless. The staff happily gave us a map and highlighted certain areas so we easily found our way around and the breakfast was hot and ready at 5 am the morning we visited Machu Picchu. I can not recommend enough!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mms3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This hotel was included in our Machu Picchu tour. I would not stay here again and wouldn't recommend it for anyone. Despite a friendly front desk staff and decent breakfast, the stay was unpleasant. The room wasn't particularly clean; I wore my flip flops to walk around. The walls seemed to be made of plywood--the din coming in from the street and courtyard was annoying and we could hear every person as they entered the hotel. In fact, the bathroom window doesn't even fully close. (We kept the bathroom door closed and it didn't quiet the noise at all.) I will say that I slept very well anyway, thanks to the Machu Picchu hiking! The bed wasn't miserable, and a hot shower with good water pressure was much appreciated. Still, I highly recommend finding another property - this was a small step above a hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Our tour agency booked this hotel for me and three friends when we did the two day one night short Inca trail hike.

The hotel was farther from the bus stop and town square compared to other hotels, but since the town is pretty small, it was not difficult to walk around.

Check in staff was nice and breakfast was delicious with a lot of selections. The hotel is quaint and interesting as the floors were not right above each other. It was like walking a small maze and kind of fun to not be in a typical square hotel.

We had two rooms - two people to a room. The rooms were simple and clean. Beds were comfortable. Unfortunately bathrooms were really small and our room had a leaky sink while my friends had a leaky toilet.

Wifi was slow from our rooms but it was probably because our rooms were in a corner. Wifi in the lobby / breakfast area was a little faster.

Only complaint other than the small bathrooms was that we were woken up at 5am by what sounded like heavy construction outside the hotel. Couldn't tell if it was one-time construction or normal occurrence of locals dragging wagons around. There was a lot of construction in town when we were there so hopefully you won't get woken up in the same way =)



Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.4 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,170 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.5 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
368 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
278 reviews
0 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: €65 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing