We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
29
64
40
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
64
40
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake facing top floor basic accommodations walking distance hot water and ac nice surroundings hotel is located central america nicaraguan standards couple of nights finca volcano breeze island fan horses flowers
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

You have to pay $15 per day extra for air conditioning
There is cold water only.
Average quality, overpriced food, the hotel is isolated and there is nowhere else to eat other than at the hotel at the butterfly farm.
There is a pool but it belongs to the property next door and costs $5 to use.
You need beach shoes to go into the water/beach at the hotel because it is full of sharp and/or slippery rocks. You’d be better to walk to the butterfly farm which is 5 minutes away along a beach track and use their much better beach (they also have a restaurant, but the prices there are also expensive)
A saving grace for this hotel is that it is in a lovely garden setting.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avntheothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The hotel itself is nice with cabins for rooms.
There is a lake that you can have a swim in or pay $5US to use the pool next door.
As far as locations go there isn't too much nearby but you can pay for a driver to take you to other parts of the island.
I was unlucky to have a room beneath a family who were up at 6.30 am with their children playing and yelling outside. Then by 7.00 am they turned on their music which not only was it rude was very annoying.
The food was lovely and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either on top floor or away from families
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not in the best location, there is nothing around the hotel, in terms of restaurants and bars.

The rooms are nice, cabin type rooms. But very basic and you will need to be okay with insects and geckos, as we had 12+ in the first room we had.

The best advice I can give you, if you are planning on staying here, is keep your doors shut, windows shut and lights off during the dark/evening hours. If you do leave the doors/window open and the lights on your room will be covered with
all sorts of insects! We had to switch rooms because of this issue.

The second room we prepared, by spraying mozzie spray round the doors, placing a towel under the door and checking all over the room, for the two nights we stayed here the seemed to keep the room insect free. We just had a bird nesting in our wardrobe. Humorous right.

The views are great.

But it was very hot when we stayed here and they charged us $15 per night for the air con!

If you head further into the island to like Balgue, you will find more people there, and a lot more going on.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

What was once a family farm is now a quiet hidden gem on the lakeside of Ometepe Island. Great views of the water in the restaurant, hammocks, and certain rooms. Also has a great view of the volcano from the front of the location. Well hidden with excellent options for housing. Clean and spacious rooms including bathrooms. Air conditioning is available but is not included.

Room Tip: Room 13-17 have amazing beach views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocioKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The rooms are spacious, but rather primitively furnished, some need renovation, air condition and fan worked, there is no tv in the room, and there is no WiFi reception besides in the restaurant (plugging in is not possible there, you need a good battery) and the lobby. This place is rather isolated, and the prices in the restaurant are ridiculously high, take a lot of
The view on the lake is breathtaking

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MartinF229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews