We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
194
61
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
61
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner pit stop our room was spacious swimming pool mountains village dinner jams morroco
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

A gem. Beautifully designed and built with a stunning view. Comfortable and stylish ensuite rooms. A lovely hamman and a small but adequate pool.The food too was very good: Morrocan with a French twist. But the strength of this hotel was the genuine welcome from the staff, the owner and his extended familiy (particulary his three year old niece). Thank you!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank fromampthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

IRocha is charming, rustic, and unique. The scenary from the terrace is breathtaking. My family and I had a most enjoyable night outside Marrakech during our 10 day trip in Morocco. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone on the way south of the Atlas Mountain.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank maankawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The hotel is a surprise as you come off the road up a bumpy track. However as you walk through the gate and the Courtyard opens up you know you are going to be among friends. The bedrooms are straight forward, but the public rooms and terraces are welcoming, and the staff are courteous and friendly. The food can be excellent, and the combination leads to a convivial atmasphere among the hotel guests. Ahmed, the manager host , and his staff make this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSimon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Having previously stayed at IRocha we decided to stay for a night on the return leg of a trip to the Erg Chebbi sand dunes. I should say we attempted to book – three e-mails and repeated phone calls prior to the trip went unanswered.

The reason for a repeat trip was due to the excellent setting and hospitality on the previous visit – the later had TOTALLY disappeared. The brothers who run the hotel were not seen. The staff were on the rude side of unfriendly.

Supper was scheduled for 1930 – however it was almost 2015 before Harira soup arrived. The intervening 45 minutes were spent listening to exceptionally loud live Moroccan music providing by three men – accompanied in the background by a Power Balads CD that was playing on the music system! The main course of tagine was very poor. The meal resulted in vomiting for one of us.

We telephoned ahead from the Erg Chebbi sand dunes in the morning requesting a hammam. It turned out to be self-service – no massage etc (in and out in 20 minutes). At check-out we were charged €9 per person (one being a 6 year old child who in the absence of childcare came in the hamman). We were only provided with two sets of robes, soap etc. This was a total rip-off.

The room had a continual flow of flies – a mosquito net was provided. Trying to find the route of the problem would be preferable.

The breakfast with the homemade yoghurt was the only highlight in an otherwise extremely disappointing stay.

The total for a one night stay, with an evening meal, two beers, a bottle of wine, a twenty minute hammam came to nearly 2000Dh! At check out when we mentioned the cost of the hammam, the poor meal and general dissatisfaction we were informed by the receptionist that he had no power. It is a shame this hotel has gone downhill so much.

If looking for a stopover venue en route to, or from, the desert Les Jardins de Skoura is a far better option.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

From the previous review it seems October was a bad time to visit - or it's going downhill (would explain the lack of maintenance) - or you only get good treatment if a valued tour group? Here's the review I submitted to Alastair Sawday where I got the original recommendation - unfortunately Alastair S doesn't publish bad reviews, but I thought this should be shared:
We'd recommend only if you needed a spot to stop for a night Marrakesh side of Ouarzazate. Good food, nice patio for breakfast but not the standard or service expected of an Alastair Sawday recommendation. On booking we'd informed Irocha we'd be on honeymoon but suspect it was our late arrival rather than consideration for our reasons for visiting or how long we were staying (4 nights) that meant we were placed in what we found out only later to be the smallest and probably worst maintained room. It wasn't until the second night that we realised not all rooms were as basic, crampt (no space for bags or to unpack) or had showers that ran hot-cold-hot - and despite others rooms becoming free during our four night stay, we were not offered an upgrade - the passing trade of tour groups seemingly offered preferential treatment. We should have also realised that 1) an unheated pool would be too cold at any time of day when you're likely to want to relax back at your hotel 2) it's too far out of Ouarzazate to be a good base for exploring. Overall, the main problem seemed to be a proprietor concerned with maintaining his reputation rather than genuinely inquiring after his guests - a stark contrast to the reception we received elsewhere in Morocco.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamsegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews