We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hidden secret in Morocco”
Review of Irocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irocha
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I couldn't understand why my travel agency wanted to travel 40 kilometres to stay at another Riad. As we drove along the foothills of the Atlas there was a little hand written sign that said Irocha 150 meters away and I thought "really". We turned up a dirt track and I was thinking what the.... And then we pulled up in front of the Riad and the door was open - oh my do I understand why I was told to come here.

As you walk in there is the most magnificent pool on the right you are then taken to a sitting room which is so chic in it's simplicity. Right now I'm sitting on the terrace overlooking the valley below. My room and bathroom are a delight. There is the cutest bar which is full of atmosphere. The service is extraordinary and would you believe I'm the only person here. Lucky me and poor you for not knowing about this place. I would happily come back to Morocco just to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Having come from Marrakesh, arriving in Tisseldei was a bit of a culture shock. A typical village 50kms from Ouarzazte enjoying a cooler climate than that of Marrakesh and Ouarzazate. Irocha is tucked away amongst the dwellings of a real Morrocan village. The welcome was genuine and all the staff were so kind and humble. The riad is a complex of various rooms and seating areas all beautifully decorated with fabulous views across the valley. The rooms are all individual and as a family of 4 we were kindly offered 2 rooms, which the children thoroughly enjoyed, as did the parents after a 4 hour trip. The food is fantastic, a twist on a Moroccan theme, which is a nice change. The swimming pool is possibly the best we have experienced in Morocco, immaculately clean, and proved difficult to extract our children from, but a great way to real cool down after a long trip. The rooms were comfortable, and the showers worked! Another first. A/C worked well.
All in all, we cannot fault Irocha, and we were sad to leave such a beautiful place where we felt really welcome. One warning the driveway to the riad is difficult to navigate at night and a bit of a challenge on low slung cars, not a criticism, as this is real Morocco. If you have a spare 2 hours head for the old kasbah, a great walk and a fascinating reccy around a not so ancient dwelling. Make sure you take your camera, the view is breathtaking. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGJDEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

As we had driven straight from Merzouga we were looking forward to staying at Irocha for some sleep and relaxation. The food was among the best we had all holiday and the owner and staff were all brilliant. Though we didn't make use of the pool, it looked amazing and it's a shame we didn't have time for a swim. The rooms were fantastic and very well priced, and the bed was the best I've ever slept in. There was also a very well stocked bar, ranging from beer to whiskey at fair prices for Morocco. The only thing I'd say is you'd need a car to access it, but other than that I would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Temps4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Looking for a place to relax after hectic travel in Marrakesh, Essaouira, or the Sahara. This gem is so friendly and speical you will want to hang out and not move. The food cooked by Fatima, is upscale Morrocan, with an infusion of French severed with all the elegance of a hight priced hotel. The homemade breakfast yogurt was fantastic.
Abdula, the manager on site is charming, funny, kind and is there to make you visit a warm and happy experience. We had three nights and two full days just hanging out at the pool and walling in the small village. Susan and Deborh.

Room Tip: bring insect repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanbwdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My family stayed here several days on half board in April 2012. The rooms are basic, but the spacious terraces, cozy public rooms, and courtyards have enormous charm. The dinners a superb and imaginitive--they will break you away from the usual tagines which, though delicious, become a little repetitive if you have a long stay in Morocco. For those interested in truly off the beaten track experiences, Ahmed (one of the owners) is a man of great intellect and curiosity who loves to explore--tag along on one of his explorations, and you will have a unique experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
49.5 km away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
46.7 km away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 41 in Ouarzazate
139 reviews
45.6 km away
Le Berbere Palace
Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 41 in Ouarzazate
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 km away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 41 in Ouarzazate
688 reviews
39.9 km away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#21 of 41 in Ouarzazate
83 reviews
59.7 km away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#9 of 41 in Ouarzazate
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irocha

Address: Tisseldei 45250 | village de Tisselday, Ouarzazate 45250, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: €34 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irocha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Maison d'hôtes` is situated in the village of Tisselday on the way from Marrakech to Ouarzazate, at 20 minutes from the Ait Ben Haddou ksar, 40 Minutes from Ouarzazate and 3 hours from Marrakech. It's a beautiful location in an authentic "pisé" village away from the crawded touristic places, a perfect base to discover the real berbere life of the south of Morocco. We have 10 rooms (all with private bathrooms with showers or bath). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Irocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing