We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
122
31
5
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
31
5
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslawrence of arabiamovie themeexquisite hotelboutique hotelmorning breakfastluxury guest housethe ownerevery requestwould highly recommend this hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulwelcoming placerooms are spaciousstayed one nightalbertcleopatragladiatorsuite
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

This was the only hotel that ripped us off during our 10 day 4 or 5 star stay all across Morocco. I know they were desperate for money because there was only one other suite occupied, we were the only ones who ate dinner and the entire hotel - including our room - was freezing cold and not heated but it doesn't excuse the rip-off behaviour.

The staff was excellent - especially our restaurant server who came in earlier the next day to give us breakfast a little early - but they were obviously being bullied by the owner. The receptionist couldn't accommodate anything for us without asking his boss, the owner. The stay started out pretty well because we asked for - and got - some basic and not-so-basic accommodations such as: a) a heater in our room because it was so cold (they put it in there while we ate dinner but we had to give it up by 9 pm due to the "danger"), b) breakfast a little earlier at 7:45 am instead of 8 am because we were being picked up for the desert by 8 am and c) a request to leave our car one more night while we were in the desert.

As for the hotel - the food was pretty basic and lower-middle of the road compared to other places; not much variety and expensive for Morocco. The decor is fine, fairly new, although the rooms look a lot smaller in person compared to the pictures. Our Lawrence of Arabia room only had a tiny window. The room was freezing cold. And of course, the service was definitely not 5 star, at best 2 star. Asking for basic necessities - such as heat - or breakfast being served 15 minutes early is not a 5 star experience. In contrast, the last Riad we stayed in before leaving Morocco served us breakfast at 5:45 am.

But the kicker was charging us 200 dirham for one plate that was broken during our stay. The cheap white ceramic plate broke on the floor and they said we broke 2 plates @ 100 dirham each. We disputed the number of plates broken and they did not cost 100 dirhams - maybe 5 or 6 dirhams. And on top if it all, the owner sent the receptionist (whom we had tipped about $25 USD over the 2 days) to do his dirty work. Just as we were driving off, the receptionist leaned into the driver's window and demanded the money. He then tried to block us leaving the parking garage by stepping in front of our car. We couldn't believe it! We threw 200 dirhams at him and drove off.

We felt very bad for the staff and tipped them a lot during our stay, including the bellman, who unbeknownst to us washed our car while we were away. We definitely felt betrayed by the incredibly poor, rip-off behaviour that we hadn't experienced at any other hotel in Morocco and by this time, we had been to Casablanca, Tangier, Chefchaouen, Sale, Rabat and Marrakech. We couldn't believe that this so-called 5 star in Ouarzazate would do this and were very sad because this type of behaviour is what makes many people afraid of visiting Morocco. Maybe the broken plates constituted the "parking fee" they would have liked to have charged us but if this was the case, they should have been upfront about it rather than sneaking it in last minute and blocking our car from leaving.

The staff obviously got their direction from the owner as the receptionist had to ask him about anything, so I don't blame them but I feel bad for them.

If you're thinking about staying here before or after a desert tour, my recommendation is to go to Ait Ben haddou and stay there in a real 5 star, not this one. Ouarzazate is a nice town but pretty touristy and suburban compared to the real kasbahs about 20 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert E, Propriétaire at Hotel Temple des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear guest,
I am shocked by the series of various incidents that you relate.
Could you let me know on which date you stayed so that I could investigate further on what happened and why.
Sanctions will be taken accordingly.
Being myself the Owner, and not being in Ouarzazate during these unacceptable incidents, please accept my apologies.
As you may read from other guests comments on TripAdvisor site, we are not at all used to such comments and I hope you will help me in investigating that Unique case.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

The city has several nice locations that resemble to movies, but this place is outstanding, the rooms are nicely decorated. We stayed at Kundun, my wife’s happiest moment on the trip, once we have some buda’s statues back at home, so we felt at home.
The staff was very nice to all of us, considering we were with our kids. Flexible in our meals and careful to make we all happy.
Breakfast was also a high point, even without a nice fruit variety.
I strongly recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank VCMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert E, Propriétaire at Hotel Temple des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you so much for your nice comments and your praise.
The purpose of Le Temple des Arts is to provide a real escape from daily life and to look like a trip in the World of Cinema WITHIN your trip to Ouarzazate...
I am glad that you felt it that way and I hope you will be back with us soon to experience the 6 other Suites, all different from each other.!
Sorry for the limited choice of fruits in the breakfast but we are opposed to the fruit salads in cans and Ouarzazate grows very few fruit locally....

See you again very soon!
Best regards.
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stopped in Ouarzazate for one night en route from the Sahara to Marrakesh and the Hotel Temples des Arts was a luxurious and welcoming place to refresh after a night in a tent. We ate dinner at the hotel, which was delicious and served in a lovely quiet dining room with a fireplace. Our rooms were sumptuous and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We never left the hotel because everything we needed was right there.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Spacefoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert E, Propriétaire at Hotel Temple des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thanks a million for your valuable comment.
You just summarized what our main aim is: Feeling like a Movie Star in a unique setting,and enjoying to be pampered as anyone being on holidays.

We really look forward at welcoming you (or your friends) in this Magic place.

All the best.
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Stayed in the kundun suite. Each room is decorated with a movie theme. very unique. Good service at the hotel. Meal freshly prepared and very tasty. Disappointed that I could not be accommodated for a spa treatment. The other downside is the bath- water spillage as no curtain around the bath and the shower did not function well- had to use it as hand -held. otherwise an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The Cleopatra Suite was stunning
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_mamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert E, Propriétaire at Hotel Temple des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you very much for your praise, and so sorry that you could not enjoy your spa (we inform our guests that this is on appointment and can be arranged prior to arrival).
As for curtains in the bath, all our rooms being based on a famous movie, it is always a heartbreaker to ‘kill’ the decoration with modern and practical utilities...thus our dilemma in spoiling the ambiance with modern curtains .
I hope you will understand the reasons...
I am glad that you could enjoy our restaurant and our Chef’s endeavor to prepare daily the great Classics of Berber (and also international) foods.
Hoping to see you again soon.
Albert ELGRISSY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed a night in the room Lawrence of Arabia. Was lovely. Each room is themed according to a movie and decor and space was great..the dinner was also delicious.the staff were friendly and helpful.definitely worth a visit for a different type of experience..
Only negative was no shower curtain and the water spills onto the floor when showering...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank AmBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert E, Propriétaire at Hotel Temple des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thanks to your comments, we have got the shower revisited completely !!!
It is always a crucial choice to chose between the authenticity and 5star comfort, but I totally agree that it was necessary.
We are now ready for your next visit to us !

Look forward to welcoming you again, soon.
Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews