We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
51
14
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
14
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

nice familiar hotel with a very helpful stuff...Ali the owner is very kind. When you are in Pyramides hotel, it's like being home :). The location is so wonderful: The Erg chebbi dunes just infront for a walk, all in all the landscape is amazing. I have being in this place many times and will no doubt go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Fantastic hotel, especially for the price. Rooms were spacious and clean with a large en-suite and air-conditioning. Location is on the edge of town, but the view of the Sahara desert is unbeatable. The food served here for lunch / dinner is also superb.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights at beginning of March. Like anywhere located for the best views of dunes, you will be outside of Merzouga village itself and this Auberge is no exception. Situated off a dusty track about 700 metres from it, but you will be picked up/dropped off gratis on request from bus. Les Pyramides is basic , but much better than expected and I enjoyed my time here. Stayed single standard but had comfortable double room, which was very good in being so close to dunes. Bathroom had no towel ( albeit I got one eventually) nor soap, but good supply of hot water and large shower. Bed was firm and despite temperatures dropping at night, room remained warm. Staff were all polite and friendly. Most helpful but keen for you to take camel ride or 4x4 trip as is expected.
This Auberge has a super patio for guests to sit out on and just stare at dunes or enjoy a meal. Breakfasts were ok, being simple but sufficient, but I felt the evening meal options were not up to standard and said so. They were also expensive . The meal on my last night was disgusting and the food is something which owner needs address. If people have got little option at night to travel elsewhere in the pitch black, then they need to be assured of ability to get good dinner at this Auberge.
Price of staying at Les Pyramides although quite average for Saharran Morocco, is really good when you consider overall comforts and its enviable position. There was a large lounge area inside where guests could just sit or have a meal/drink.
I do not think you will do better for price and experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Wonderful and cheap. The owner personally picked me up at the bus stop (a welcome surprise as Merzouga is a bit spread out). Breakfast was large and filling (good for when you're trying to save a few bucks). The rooms were clean and very large, and the showers were hot. The bed was great (a little firm, but I like that). Overall a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_01001010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

March, 2012, Holland

Last februari we went for the fourth time to Merzouga and we stayed, also for the fourth time, in Auberge Les Pyramides, a cosy Inn situated on the edge of the Erg Chebbi desert. We like to come there because we really feel at home right from the start! The staff is very nice and take care of us very well and Ali, the owner of the auberge, is a nice and gentle guy who is very interrested in his guests and makes now and then a chat with everyone. The food is delicious and since recently there is a cook, (Chef de Cuisine) Mohammed, who makes the tastiest dishes for us! And Omar's coffee is the best coffee ever! The rooms are neatly and clean and some have a shower and toilet. During our stay we also go to the oasis, each on a camel, for two or three nights and we can leave our luggage in the auberge, very nice!
In the daytime you can chill and relax on the terras of the auberge, surrounded by trees, sand dunes and camels. And at the end of the day you can walk in a minute into the dunes, right into the sahara to enjoy the beautiful colors of the setting sun. So romantic! The atmosphere feels like you're in a fairy tale, a real relief after the cold en grey winter in Holland! It is a nice place to always return to when you're tired of the rain at home, and in merzouga it almost never rains, and the sun is shining always!
At night it's dinner time and sometimes there's music with the drums and singing and dancing! Very nice! It depends on how many people there are present at the time, sometimes a few, sometimes more . Last time there were a lot of french people, some dutch families, german motorbikers and even a spanish filmcrew! And our last night we had a great party with two Italien couples who brought their home made cookies and wine and shared it with us. It was a very nice last evening!
So you meet very different kinds of people there and that's so special.
We hope that we will return soon to our beloved hostel with all the nice people and, not to forget, the nice cat, our little friend tamasjoet, the housecat of les Pyramides!
Greetz and love,
Brenda, Lonnie and Paulina

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews