We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
51
14
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
14
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Wonderful and cheap. The owner personally picked me up at the bus stop (a welcome surprise as Merzouga is a bit spread out). Breakfast was large and filling (good for when you're trying to save a few bucks). The rooms were clean and very large, and the showers were hot. The bed was great (a little firm, but I like that). Overall a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_01001010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

March, 2012, Holland

Last februari we went for the fourth time to Merzouga and we stayed, also for the fourth time, in Auberge Les Pyramides, a cosy Inn situated on the edge of the Erg Chebbi desert. We like to come there because we really feel at home right from the start! The staff is very nice and take care of us very well and Ali, the owner of the auberge, is a nice and gentle guy who is very interrested in his guests and makes now and then a chat with everyone. The food is delicious and since recently there is a cook, (Chef de Cuisine) Mohammed, who makes the tastiest dishes for us! And Omar's coffee is the best coffee ever! The rooms are neatly and clean and some have a shower and toilet. During our stay we also go to the oasis, each on a camel, for two or three nights and we can leave our luggage in the auberge, very nice!
In the daytime you can chill and relax on the terras of the auberge, surrounded by trees, sand dunes and camels. And at the end of the day you can walk in a minute into the dunes, right into the sahara to enjoy the beautiful colors of the setting sun. So romantic! The atmosphere feels like you're in a fairy tale, a real relief after the cold en grey winter in Holland! It is a nice place to always return to when you're tired of the rain at home, and in merzouga it almost never rains, and the sun is shining always!
At night it's dinner time and sometimes there's music with the drums and singing and dancing! Very nice! It depends on how many people there are present at the time, sometimes a few, sometimes more . Last time there were a lot of french people, some dutch families, german motorbikers and even a spanish filmcrew! And our last night we had a great party with two Italien couples who brought their home made cookies and wine and shared it with us. It was a very nice last evening!
So you meet very different kinds of people there and that's so special.
We hope that we will return soon to our beloved hostel with all the nice people and, not to forget, the nice cat, our little friend tamasjoet, the housecat of les Pyramides!
Greetz and love,
Brenda, Lonnie and Paulina

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here with my wife and friend in January. We booked through Expedia because of the good reviews, but this hotel was even better than we could have hoped for.

The staff was great (especially Ali), the rooms were nice, clean and most importantly, warm. We had stayed in a bunch of hotels for similar prices, but they were all cold with no heating. Auberge Les Pyramides had nice controllable built in heaters in each room, it was fantastic.

We opted to eat dinner (and our breakfasts) in the hotel and it was a great choice. The food was terrific.

As I mentioned above, the staff was great and they went over the options for day or night trips into the Sahara. We opted for the full day and overnight option. They let us keep our bags in the hotel and we were even able to shower upon our return (which was very much appreciated after 24 hours in the desert).

When we were checking out they even let us pay in Euros and gave me the best exchange rate I got in the country. It made life a lot easier than spending the last of my dirham.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, not just for the rooms, but for the staff and the trips they can arrange for you and great prices.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Anyone who goes to Morocco and just visits Marrakesh and Casablanca is missing out on much of what makes up the soul of the country -- the Berbers and the desert they call home. And Les Pyramides is definitely the place to get "up close and personal" with the camels and the sand, especially at a cost that won't break the bank.

Les Pyramides is basic, but really it's as it should be, since a stay here must also absolutely include an over-night out in the desert itself.

Ali, Omar and the crew are wonderful hosts, but what I haven't seen mentioned by other writers here is just how good their cooking is. Definitely go for the kefta tajine, which is delicious, and far different to what we got anywhere else in the country. And you'll be amazed at what they're able to conjure up for your meal out in the desert. Omar's chicken tajine and couscous on the sand was the best we had on our whole trip!

While you're there, also take the opportunity to visit Hamad Mahjoubi and his mates at Dar Gnawa Khamlia for a taste of Gnaouan music - a historical link with what much later became the blues. Ali can set all that up for you, no problem. But make sure you slip the village elders a bit of cash, as well as buying one of their CDs. These days musicians (and their families) have a hard life no matter where they call home.

We visited Morocco the first time back in the '70's, but this trip to the desert was the best thing we've ever done in the country. If only we'd come all those years ago!

Room Tip: Pick the camel at the end of the train. You'll get better pictures of your friends that way!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fannington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DESERTEXPIRIANCE, Propriétaire at Auberge Les Pyramides, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Auberge les Pyramides in Merzouga, south-eastern Morocco. This inn is an ideal stop for guests travelling Africa, where they can discover the magnificent ergs such as Erg Chebbi and the sublime Saharan landscapes.

During a holiday in Morocco, guests staying at the inn can enjoy various activities including trekking, excursions, and wellness treatments. Nearby, guests will also find Erfoud (50 km) and Rissani (37 km). 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I was traveling alone as a woman without any experience, but to hand over to berber-people means, that they take care for you, you are protected and you will never get lost! tell them your wishes, and sure, they will come reality. in this house you feel like it is your second home. as it is not too big, it has a kind family athmosphere. it is possible to make a trip to the oasis- an unforgettable experience!!! it is worth to take time there to learn more about the cultural heritage of the berber and the values of the society. I was there for 11 days, and I will be back, soon. there is much more to learn, to taste and to research. and most of all: the desert is a very decent, kind and wise teacher.
thanks to all the beautiful people there, tanmirt

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monjo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews