We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Auberge Dardara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chefchaouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge Dardara
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The auberge is superbly in the countryside and they have tremendous fresh boilogically made food! Unfortunately all the rooms are in blocks and (potentially) noisy. The pool was closed (although "year round" was quoted) and there wasn't any warm water to have a normal shower. Last but not least: the WiFi was like ... For the price we paid, we expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Take a room at the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2015

We were really excited to try this restaurant on the advice of the Lonely Planet. We were very disappointed- the restaurant doesn't have much atmosphere, probably not helped by the fact that we were the only ones in there. The waitress was miserable and not very helpful - not sure why if she had to only serve one group of people. Food was very good however. If you go I can imagine it is better at lunchtime where maybe you can take a walk around the area.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1984_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Very good service and wonderful food. Stayed five nights in January. Then it's cold at night - but the rooms have thick warm blankets to snuggle down under, plus a fireplace that heats upp the room and creates fantastic coziness. Beautiful Moroccan crafts both in the rooms and restaurant / lobby. Many thanks to the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Åsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Stayed here for three days in early November. Knowing that most of our time would be spent in the city of Chefchauoen ( short taxi ride) we were looking to stay somewhere which would lets us experience some true Moroccan culture as compared to a touristy hotel. We made a good choice. The food was both excellent and of local cuisine. Tangine ( individual ceramic cooking vessel which doubles as the serving dish) cooking resulted in both tasty and tender entrees. The Moroccan breakfast of assorted cheeses, meats, tomatoes, breads, and coffees of your choice (and the omnipresent hospitality offering of hot mint tea) is a nice cultural touch. Auberge Dardara strives to be both an Eco- friendly operation and supportive of the locals, with much of the menu being grown on the property or obtained from local producers. The staff is very interested in service. As an example, upon our return from Chefchauoen one cooler evening, the staff had started a fire in the room's fireplace between the time we arrived back ( and was treated to tea) and returned to our room. Although we could have used the rooms heater to warm the room, the surprise fireplace touch was excellent. If you wish to experience the local culture while supporting both the Eco- friendly ( ther are further plans) and locals, consider the Auberge Dardara.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank USAMasonLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

A group of 5 of us flew in from the States and stayed here. Our stay was nothing less than fantastic. This coming from a picky eater, the food was sublime. Much of the food is grown on or around the Auberge and you can tell. The staff was always smiling and extremely helpful at all times. And the owner, enough cannot be said about his kindness and great heart. It is roughly a 15 minute drive to the medina, but the cost of a taxi is minimal.

Stay here if you want a treat; if you want a relaxing little in with many comforts; if you want a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
7.3 km away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
172 reviews
7.4 km away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
541 reviews
7.4 km away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 24 in Chefchaouen
130 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Al Khalifa
Hotel Al Khalifa
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
138 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#18 of 24 in Chefchaouen
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Dardara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Dardara

Address: Route Nationale 2 to Al Hoceima, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: €42 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Dardara is located in the heart of the Rif mountains and has four different buildings with 21 rooms in total, each one with its authentic Moroccan character. The Auberge has a flourishing garden with aromatic herbs, olive trees, figs and other Mediterranean plants where you can enjoy a walk and feel the atmosphere of tranquillity. Taste our natural and healthy cuisine harvested in our garden and backyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Dardara Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing