We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of La Fibule d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fibule d'Or
Ranked #14 of 31 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped at this hotel as part of our Intrepid tour & we all (a group of 7) agreed it was good, especially when compared against Moroccan standards.

The host, nicknamed Action because he's been an extra in 16 movies, was a great host & put on a couscous demo for us.

Dinner was excellent & brekkie fresh & healthy.

No complaints about our room - how can you when you have a view across the river to the best attraction in town!

That aside the hot water was instant when showering & the wifi worked fine in the dining area.

It's just a pity it was so cold/windy because we couldn't enjoy the rooftop terrace.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Phil-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la fibule d, Propriétaire at La Fibule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017
Google Translation

merci beaucoup pour votre avis positif ;
pour l'eau chaude il faut juste attendre 5mn pour que l'eau arrive .
merci beaucoup ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

The hotel spectacular, with raw walls and bamboo / Poplar wood ceilings. One strange thing was the fact the bathroom in the room only has a half wall which doesn't provide any kind of 'acoustic barrier' if you know what I mean. That said, the hot water was almost immediate which was against the trend of Moroccan hotels. The staff were great and we were treated to a couscous cooking demonstration with our group guide acting as translator. Breakfast was also very nice with yoghurt, fruit and some kind of deep fried bread. The absolute highlight though was the view of the Ait Ben Haddou kasbar from the rooftop and the windows of the rooms themselves. The view from the hotel was even better than the lookout where we had stopped. There are still some families that live in the Kasbar so it is pitch black at night and not lit up as you might expect for such a tourist attraction. It also sounded like there were packs of wild dogs wandering the streets so take care if moving about after dark.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s340466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This is actually a nice hotel, with a great view over the village and a nice restaurant.

It is let down by not changing sheets between guests - our bed had sand and hairs inside the sheets with more deposits in the foot area indicating the sheets weren't changed from the prior guests.

There is hot water, but you must wake up before any other guest to get it, otherwise it will be a cold shower which may be fine in summer but certainly not in winter.

-3 for not changing sheets
-2 for no hot water

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la fibule d, Propriétaire at La Fibule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour a tous : et bonne année 2017 !!

La nuit ou le client loge chez nous , malheureusement on a une panne de la chaudière ; mais on la réparé le matin ; et c'est la premiere fois qu'on a eu la panne de l'eau chaude ( voir les avis positifs !!) merci a tous ! .
pour les draps; chaque matin , après le depart des clients on fait un nettoyage generale de l'etablissement .
Encor Merci a tous !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Its locations trumps whatever shortcomings that it may have. The full view of Old Ait Benhaddou is right in front of your room and the terrace day and night with a perfect camera angle. Breakfast not the most generous among all other Moroccan hotels, but having a breakfast with such a view is priceless. Rooms are simple with heater but limited hot shower water and unsteady in-room wifi. Enthusiastic runners may consider joining a dawn running session with owner Hussein, possibly an interesting way to explore the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ktong002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la fibule d, Propriétaire at La Fibule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017
Google Translation

Bonjours a tous !

toujours soyez bien venues chez nous !

Le proprietaire !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The only negative point was the small bed for a 1,90m person. The WC was a little dark and I took a shower with flip-flops...

The town is small, so u can stay around 2 hours, no more. So its a sleep point to continue the route, not a place to spend all day.

The owner was very helpful telling us the best way and the time for the route to Merzouga.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houcine b, Gérant at La Fibule d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Thank you very much have come to us next time;
The beds are always 1; 90m.
The light in the shower is traditional.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ait Ben Haddou hotels
0.2 km away
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
#5 of 31 in Ait Ben Haddou
264 reviews
5 km away
Kasbah Titrit & Spa
Kasbah Titrit & Spa
#1 of 1 in Tamedakhte
46 reviews
2.7 km away
Riad Ksar Ighnda
Riad Ksar Ighnda
#10 of 31 in Ait Ben Haddou
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 31 in Ait Ben Haddou
468 reviews
0.3 km away
Kasbah Tebi
Kasbah Tebi
#4 of 31 in Ait Ben Haddou
265 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Caravane
Riad Caravane
#2 of 31 in Ait Ben Haddou
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fibule d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fibule d'Or

Address: Ait Ben Haddou | kasbah Ait Ben Haddou ouarzazate Maroc, Ait Ben Haddou 45122, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range: €39 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fibule d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 30 km from Ouarzazate Airport, La Fibule D’or is a traditional Moroccan guest house. It offers the best roof-top terrace , with magnificent panoramic views of the Kasbah. The suite guest accommodations have views of the mountains, gardens and river.Each room at La Fibule D’or has a private bathroom, and some open onto a patio. Guests have access to a kitchen and washing machine.La Fibule D’or offers a Tent ‘Khayma’ as an authentic accommodation in the roof terrace for the amators of romance.La Fibule D’or has a Restaurant and serves authentic Moroccan cuisine and teas. Staff are available 24 hours and can entertain with stories of many movies filmed in the area. The Guest House also provides a business centre with free internet access and WiFi ,cuisine lessons, Moroccan Hammam , Relaxing Massages, Excursions ,Guidance , Henna Tattoo , Arabic Lessons and airport transfers . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Fibule d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing